Warning from the UK–Don’t follow our lead

21 Comments

  1. prop8discussion said,

    October 18, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    do you think you could tell your sister’s story on my blog? just as a comment? i think it’s important for people to know about these things.

    http://prop8discussion.wordpress.com/

    yes on prop 8!

  2. beetlebabee said,

    October 18, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Sure, you’re always welcome to copy and paste anything from here, just put a link to my blog.along with it.

  3. October 21, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    So gay people are fake humans like a fake $5 bill? All humans deserve equal rights under the law.

  4. Cindy said,

    October 21, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Thank you for posting this. I hope that Prop 8 will pass. There was a grass roots movement of parents who kept their kids home from school today to protest the California Teacher’s Association’s contribution of $1.25 million to the No on Prop 8 campaign. I know many teachers who are upset about this also. Thank you Cindy

  5. beetlebabee said,

    October 21, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    Julie Phineas, I think the comparison they’re making is with the marriage terms, not the people.

  6. james said,

    October 22, 2008 at 11:41 am

    This is so cool! I think it’s great that there are other countries and states where marriage has been extended to include homosexual couples so that we can see the effects it has had on these respective places. I think it’s obvious that many concerns expressed in the campaign, should prop 8 fail to pass, are very legitimate as illustrated by the UK.

  7. prop8discussion said,

    October 22, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    thanks for this post.

    Marriage is our culture’s ultimate expression of equality–it takes one man and one woman to create children. Even if a marriage can’t have children or choose not to have children the definition of their relationship expresses this equality.

    One could see a lesbian union as a marginalization of men, or a homosexual union as a marginalization of women.

    I don’t believe government should sanction the marginalization of any gender (or more importantly, parent). And even though some families can’t have children, or choose not to have children, you can’t separate the child-issue from the marriage issue.

    there is a great discussion here:

    http://prop8discussion.wordpress.com/2008/10/20/separate-but-equal/

    yes on prop 8!

    p.s. your blog is on a black list. awesome right?
    go here:
    http://lezgetreal.com/2008/10/yes-on-prop-8-blog-roll.html

  8. beetlebabee said,

    October 22, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Full Black List Retrieved, thanks for the head’s up!

    Beetle Blogger
    –Only the Brightest and the Greenest
    AbbeyEarth –My Good Poster-Buddy Abby!
    the Mitt Blog –I liked Mitt Too, but Sarah’s growing on me.
    Real Tolerance
    Two Blog Right
    Akinas 4 prop 8
    California Crusader –Hey Crusader! You made the list!
    MamaPro
    Wendy’s Weblog
    The Coffeys
    A Shepherd’s Voice
    Benjamin 8
    Brady Bunch Mom
    Darin 4 Family
    Chicker Pen
    Protecting Marriage
    Couple for 8
    NRL 4 Prop 8 –NRL4, looks like you hit the big time!
    The Twilight Plains –This is TRULY the Twilight Zone
    Fan 0mm
    The Rogue Quill
    Christo Centric
    Protecting Marriage Prop 8
    1 Rad Dad –Hey I think I know this guy…
    Champions of Marriage
    Forester Inc
    The Scoggin Family
    Turn it Down –Definitely don’t know this guy, but cool page!

  9. beetlebabee said,

    October 22, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Gosh I feel so bad, her list is so incomplete… Sorry prop8discussion. Maybe someday it’ll happen to you too. ;-) Stick around here, we’ll have fun in the meantime.

  10. lahona said,

    October 23, 2008 at 3:48 am

    Ok what is this black list thing? Can somebody fill me in?

  11. Dan Pearce said,

    November 3, 2008 at 12:15 am

    Vote no on proposition 8. I’m married – it doesn’t dimish my marriage; it won’t change what is taught is schools; it won’t impact the tax free status of churches (although if they continue to meddle in politics perhaps their tax free statu should be revoked). It does discriminate – it does repress. Surely people have more important things to do than worry about the love lives of others.

    Dan

  12. cyclestump said,

    November 3, 2008 at 9:27 am

    There are two sports, one is called (American) Football, and the other Rugby. These sports co-exist in the world, in this country and even in the towns we live in.

    The Football folks don’t say, “Rugby, you should conform to the way OUR sport is played”. And conversely, Rugby doesn’t say, “Football, you should conform to the way OUR sport is played”. They each happily play their respective games, with no intention of changing the other.

    It depends on where you are, but you may have an advantage and be more popular if you are a fan of Football, than Rugby, and vice-versa.

    Rugby players can, and do, join Football teams, and vice-versa.

    One day a Rugby player showed up at the Football field to play in that day’s game. He trotted onto the field in his Rugby outfit and holding his Rugby ball. “We’re going to play with MY ball because I have civil rights as a person. You can’t make me play by your rules.” he said to the Football teams.

    It’s simple, by opposing Prop. 8, gays are trying to change the Heterosexual’s game.

    Vote YES on 8!

  13. November 3, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    [...] It still takes a male and female to have a child I believe that marriage should continue to be defined as between a man and a woman and that the primary purpose of that marriage is to raise children.  It has been this way for thousands of years and I don’t believe it should be changed.  It still takes a man and a woman to have a child.  That is how nature created us.  Personally, I see no reason to change the father, mother, child relationship that has been around for so long.  Granted it is not perfect and far too many people do not take it seriously but it is not justification to introduce another marriage arrangement.  * The end of marriage in Scandanavia – gay marriage has added to the problem * What is in a name? * A pair is a pair is a pair  * A Secular Case against gay marriage * Redefining the peanut butter and jelly sandwich * In the beginning, the story retold… * Warning from UK, don’t follow our lead [...]

  14. Jake said,

    November 5, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Okay, I am not a violent protester. I am not going to swear or throw titles. But the fact that gay rights activists want us to teach that homosexuality is a normal thing in the public school system? THAT I have a BIG problem with. Homosexuality is NOT normal. I don’t care how many gay rights activists call me a bigot, gaybasher, or a hater. Just because a few people deviate from their inherent sexuality doesn’t mean that it should be forced upon everyone else. THAT is unconstitutional. It’s bad enough that gays insist on the lifestyle they do instead of looking at homosexuality as what it is: a mental illness that needs to be treated. Plain & simple.

  15. Duane said,

    November 10, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    You’re right Jake–homosexuality is not normal. Somehow God made me abnormal. I’m among the small percentage of people whose wiring somehow got crossed so that I’m attracted to my own sex. I don’t completely understand it but I definitely didn’t choose to be gay; it’s a physical thing–I had nothing to do with. It is not a mental illness (that’s so 1971). Anyone who associates with gay men and women know that. But my abnormality doesn’t hurt anyone. In fact, it may even make me a better person. I love my nieces and nephews like there is no tomorrow; I pay my taxes and want better schools and education for kids; I worship God and give both time and tithe to my church, I work hard at my job and contribute to the betterment of others (is betterment a word?–it sounds good anyway). I’ve been with my partner for 11 years in a loving relationship and am in a registered domestic partnership. But that’s not a marriage. I hate the idea that my relationship is seen as less than a heterosexual relationship. I know it’s hard to understand. If I wasn’t gay, I would probably think the same as you, Jake, and would have voted for prop 8. But I am gay and would appreciate the opportunity to marry my partner some day. Thanks for reading. Peace.

  16. truth out said,

    November 12, 2008 at 9:24 am

    The initiative that defines marriage as being between one man and one woman, cannot be done by a mere constitutional amendment. Rather, it must be done by a revision of the entire Constitution and the Legislature would have to be involved.
    http://www.latimes.com/news/local/politics/cal/la-me-marriage11-2008nov11,0,5162523.story

  17. john miller said,

    November 14, 2008 at 11:11 am

    i am glad to see the ppl of califorina did the right thing in passing prop 8..but i am sad to say that you all know that liberal suprem court will throw it out..so once again the goverment and its liberal rulling courts decide what is best for you all.

  18. robert said,

    January 6, 2009 at 1:07 am

    To everyone who doesn’t have a PhD in Psychology. http://www.apa.org/topics/sorientation.html#howdo

  19. beetlebabee said,

    January 6, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    The APA information on homosexuality is not scientifically based, it’s politically influenced. They took this position by vote, not by science.

  20. mary said,

    March 26, 2009 at 9:53 am

    if all of u think homosexuality is a choice … when did u decide to be st8…

  21. beetlebabee said,

    March 26, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Mary, the choice is in the action if not in the feeling. No one is a slave to feelings without choice in their actions accept perhaps the addicted.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

