CTA TUESDAY RESPONSE

CTA TUESDAY

GRASS ROOTS RESPONSE

Parents Organize Prop. 8 Support Protest in School

Reporting
Mike Dello Stritto
SACRAMENTO (CBS13) ― In response to a controversial contribution by a   California teachers union, some parents are organizing an effort to keep their   kids home for the day and cost public schools money.

The California Teachers Association says their members are fighting to keep gay marriage legal because they stand for equality.

With cash contributions to anti-Proposition 8 efforts falling short of the opposition, the union injected $1 million into campaign coffers to continue the ad blitz.

Supporters of Proposition 8 now have a proposition of their own: They’re behind an online effort to keep kids home from school Tuesday. The organizers say for every student who misses school for personal reasons costs the school money, and are banking that high numbers will send a big message.

The e-mail says, “Many California public school students are going to be sick and absent from school on Tuesday, October 21st… Many are puzzled why the professional group hired to educate them is spending so much money to push their own social agenda.”

The chain e-mail also urges teachers supporting Proposition 8 to send a statement of their own: “With all those students out sick, many California public school teachers intend to demand $300 political refunds from their union dues.”

The CTA did not comment on how much they’ve donated to other California propositions for this election cycle.

How did you spend your CTA Tuesday? Let’s hear it from the trenches!  Did you write letters?  What did you do to make a difference?

46 Comments

  1. beetlebabee said,

    October 21, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    This is the sample sent out by a family in my area to their kids’ teachers:

    21 October 2008

    Dear (Teacher),

    As you are probably aware a grassroots effort had called for parents to hold their children out of school today in a ‘sick out’ to protest the California Teachers Association’s (CTA) decision to contribute 1.25 million dollars towards defeating Proposition 8. My child will be in your class today; not because I am opposed to the concept behind the effort, but rather I don’t want to see the school district penalized financially for my child being out of school.

    I trust that you are as outraged by the CTA decision as I am. Therefore, I would ask you to take the following remedial actions.

    1. A website has been set up for teachers to register their displeasure with the actions of the CTA. I would encourage you to add your voice at http://spreadsheets.google.com/viewform?key=ptIwgdh004nCOFEqufiYqQw&hl=en
    2. I understand that you have a right to request a refund of the portion of your union dues spent on this type of lobbying. I strongly urge you to do so. Information on doing this can be found at http://www.nrtw.org/special-legal-notice-california-teachers-how-get-least-300-refund-cta-nonbargaining-expenses
    3. If you are successful in getting a refund of a portion of your dues, please consider donating it to the Protect Marriage coalition. This will help offset the damage done by the CTA. You can do this at http://www.protectmarriage.com
    4. Pass information on to colleagues about how you feel and ask them to join you in this battle against the irresponsible and immoral actions of the CTA.

    I appreciate the work you do teaching the children of our community.

    Sincerely,
    (the family)

  2. beetlebabee said,

    October 21, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Judy sent in her letter to Mr. Sanchez:

    To David Sanchez, CTA President

    Dear Mr. Sanchez:

    I am very disappointed to know that the CTA has donated $1M to the “No on 8″ campaign. I read that your justification is that teachers believe “in teaching the importance of equal rights for all.” How ironic that you chose to support the rights of gay activists, at the expense of the children you are commited to serve. Clearly, gay rights are not the issue, as California law already grants homosexual unions the same rights as married couples. What is at issue is mainstreaming homosexuality into society by equating homosexual union with heterosexual marriage. And by so doing, you indoctrinate our children beginning in public schools with your politically correct definitions of the family unit and field trips such as in the recent news in San Francisco. What is so glaringly obvious is the fact that gay couples are not even capable of conceiving children naturally, and that in order to exercise their right to “parent,” they would intentionally deprive a child of either a mother or a father. The gay community could not have less of a stake in children’s rights. As teachers, you should also know that current science shows homosexuality to be a spectrum phenomenon whereby a person’s sexual identity is affected by environment as well as genetics. Legalizing gay marriage profoundly affects our children’s environment. The CTA’s support of the gay community’s right to change our society’s definition of marriage (which is the only right at issue in Proposition 8), is directly at our children’s expense. As teachers, you are expected to safeguard and defend children’s rights. Shame on you.

    -Judy

  3. supermomx3 said,

    October 21, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I took my three kids and walked from the school over to a rally spot at the park. In all we had a group of about 20 moms and 50 kids at the park this afternoon in (Orange County). We delivered a 5 page letter signed by all of us to the district office, letting Mr. Sanchez know exactly what we were willing to do if it ever came down to a choice between the public school system and the raising of our kids. It isn’t a choice. Our kids come first.

    (signed)

  4. Kathy H. said,

    October 21, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    In our area the response to the walk-out was huge. We had three hundred or so people signed up ready to go when the plug was pulled and the campaign turned to letter writing instead. I’m glad the kids had the opportunity to choose an option. Mine chose to go to school with letters explaining that they were here in school today, but that their hearts were in the protest. Really it’s best if we can work together. Was it a success? For us? YES. Honestly, I had no idea this type of thing was happening to our schools until that email wave hit. ditto with supermomx3, our kids come first. NO QUESTION.

  5. PithyMithy said,

    October 21, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Hey Kathy! We wrote too! Just one page though, kept it sweet. I’ve been thinking all day about this whole deal with CTA. They think they have a lot of power, but they don’t. Our whole area was mobilized before the stand down. I don’t know what the dollar amount is for each kid per day, but I’m set to wager that it’d be quite a large sum, enough to hurt. Hopefully the teachers will be able to make some headway with their unions. We could always do this again!

  6. Elene said,

    October 21, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    I’m so glad someone organized this thing. My two stayed out today, I let the school know exactly why. The kids got a lesson in standing up for what they believe in, and I got a lesson in politics! I think it was an eyeopening experience for all three of us! I hope it does some good, we probably won’t tell for some time, but I hope so.

  7. lahona said,

    October 21, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    If the teachers aren’t able to get anywhere with the CTA, we might have to do this again. I don’t want to hurt the teachers at all, but if the CTA will not listen, we will have to act until they do.

  8. beetlebabee said,

    October 21, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Elene, you’ll know if we have to do it again right around November 5th I’d say. :-) Here’s to the success of proposition 8!

  9. DEANNE SALSMAN said,

    October 21, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    To me, this has nothing to do with equal rights. All I am fighting for is to protect a word. MARRIAGE. I have a gay neice that is in a commited relationship and I support her in that. I have also told her that I do not believe that she should be able to say that she is married. Commited, taken, whatever, just not married. She even understands this and does not think that I am not fair in my views. My children do not need to know the specifics of what goes on in anybodys (private/intimate) relationships. We as parents should discuss this with our own kids. I do realize that there are parents out there that are “dropping the ball”.

    I never thought that I would be looking into the option of Home Schooling my 3 kids, but now, I may have to consider it. Or, move out of this state. Of all of the things for the CTA to support. Did they really think that this would not cause alarm with others? I cannot believe that anyone in their position could be that naive.

    As for equality, what is not equal. We are all human beings with the same needs. To be loved and cared for. We all have that. Find a new word that works for this situation, and I will use it and support it. Not marriage, married or any sense of this word. It is taken by MAN & WOMAN / HUSBAND & WIFE.

    As teachers and educators, you should be supporting children and their parents. I know quite a few teachers that are appauled at what the union did with their hard earned money. They will be fighting for refunds.

    Discouraged,
    Deanne Salsman

  10. Christina said,

    October 21, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    We Participated! This is our letter!
    October 21, 2008

    Arcohe School
    Herald, California

    My children did not attend school today. As you probably know, there was a statewide sickout today for parents to keep their children home from school in protest of the recent political donation of OVER $1 MILLION dollars to the NO on Proposition 8 Campaign by the California Teacher’s Association. The teacher’s association should be involved with issues that support our children’s education, not in promoting an issue that is so anti-family and having nothing to do with education whatsoever. I am angry that the California Teacher’s Association is so closely tied with activist gay issues. Our schools are not social experimentation labs for the gay rights lobby. The amount of money the CTA donated to the NO on 8 campaign is staggering. It shows the lengths to which they will go in supporting the gay agenda in our schools.

    We opted to not send our boys to school today in protest and want you to know that if the public schools start teaching about the homosexual lifestyle and same-sex marriage and presenting it as equal to and as normal as traditional marriage, we will have no choice but to cancel our children’s attendance in the public school system. This is OUR state, and OUR public school. Please do what’s right for OUR children, and encourage the CTA to do the same.

    Sincerely,
    (signed)

  11. LourdesM said,

    October 21, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    We participated too! My kids and my husband and I went on a field trip to the zoo. They’re too little to talk to about this issue and THAT IS MY RIGHT. I should be able to keep them innocent a little longer. Thanks guys for everything!

  12. beetlebabee said,

    October 21, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    LourdesM, it’s definitely your right. It is interesting to me that the California Teacher’s Association would even oppose something so family friendly. It’s kind of like the world tips upside down at times. It’s good to see we know how to band together. It’s like the California Parents Union. CPU….ha, I’m funny.

  13. beetlebabee said,

    October 21, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Thanks Troy for the head’s up! http://cbs13.com/local/proposition.8.teachers.2.845071.html

    Parents Organize Prop. 8 Support Protest In School
    Reporting
    Mike Dello Stritto
    SACRAMENTO (CBS13) ― In response to a controversial contribution by a California teachers union, some parents are organizing an effort to keep their kids home for the day and cost public schools money.

    The California Teachers Association says their members are fighting to keep gay marriage legal because they stand for equality.

    With cash contributions to anti-Proposition 8 efforts falling short of the opposition, the union injected $1 million into campaign coffers to continue the ad blitz.

    Supporters of Proposition 8 now have a proposition of their own: They’re behind an online effort to keep kids home from school Tuesday. The organizers say for every student who misses school for personal reasons costs the school money, and are banking that high numbers will send a big message.

    The e-mail says, “Many California public school students are going to be sick and absent from school on Tuesday, October 21st… Many are puzzled why the professional group hired to educate them is spending so much money to push their own social agenda.”

    The chain e-mail also urges teachers supporting Proposition 8 to send a statement of their own: “With all those students out sick, many California public school teachers intend to demand $300 political refunds from their union dues.”

    The CTA did not comment on how much they’ve donated to other California propositions for this election cycle.

  14. Christina said,

    October 21, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Today was a great Prop 8 day!

    First, we protested by keeping our kids home from school.

    Then we took our home made signs and joined other kids and other moms in a wave party at the busiest intersection in our little town. That was really fun, and we got the finger a few times, but mostly we got smiling honks and waves.

    Later, we joined a group of moms who had also kept their kids from school in the park to play and write letters of disapproval to the CTA. We also made handwritten notes to mail to our neighbors who were missed by the canvasing and phone calling.

    Then we spent some time at the corner of the park with our signs waiving at the traffic and teaching the other moms how to put together their own “wave” party.

    Then I went to our zip code coordinator’s house and delivered the notes and we stuffed them in envelopes with some Yes on 8 info and got them ready to deliver.

    I also contacted a coordinator at Calvary Christian Center and they are interested in helping us do the wave parties. They are really good Christian people, who are very willing to help. Thank you Calvary Christian Center.

    Tonight we’re going to make a couple more signs and go out again in the morning to catch the bulk of the “going to work” traffic.

    Someone’s got to fight this fight. I want to be able to say that I did not get discouraged and that I gave it my all.

    Yes on 8!!!!!!!!!

  15. Allia M. said,

    October 21, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    I don’t have school age kids, but I donated 600.00 to Yes on 8 to help offset the contribution made by CTA. I figure it’s cheaper than private school if it doesn’t pass.

  16. October 21, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    [...] the posts thus far.  Please see beetlebabee’s blog for additional post on the CTA Protest (http://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2008/10/21/cta-tuesday-response).  Incidentially we did get a call from our principle asking how many days our daughter would be [...]

  17. Brandon said,

    October 21, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Our 3rd grader stayed home today and we made another donation to combat the CTA spending money against Prop 8, instead of on the students or on the schools.

    Stand up, tell the truth to everyone you know. Vote Yes on Prop 8.

    standingfortruth2008.wordpress.com

  18. Heidi said,

    October 21, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    We emailed AND called in complaints to the CTA. I thought a lot about possibly home schooling my children in the future. I explained to my kids about prop 8 and why dad is standing on the corner to support YES on prop 8, with a yes sign in his hand. My 9 year old son said he thought it was wrong to change the definition of marriage in the constitution and he was very upset when I told him that gay marriage could be taught at his school. He sais it’s wrong! We talked a lot. My six year old listened but didn’t comment to much. She doesn’t understand the whole homosexual lifestyle. Do you blame her? She’s a first grader! I can’t imagine her learning about it at school! She is confused about it as it is! I am so upset with the CTA right now. They suck!

  19. marcy jackson said,

    October 21, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    My children and I wrote letters to Mr Sanchez. I kept all four of my children home and we also sent letters to all 20 of their teachers and three principals explaining why we chose to stay home. We sent a version of the letter mentioned at the top of this column with ideas for the teachers to follow. One teacher already responded back in the positive. My husband and I also donated again to the protectmarriage campaign and used CTA as our referral for why we donated. I have never been so proud of my children as I have been today. My husband and I ended today by sign waving and had a wonderful experience with a lot more “yes” excitement than the opposing view.

  20. beetlebabee said,

    October 21, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    WOW 20 teachers! That’s pretty incredible! You’re like the general of a small army with your family! That’s pretty awesome.

  21. Erik said,

    October 21, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Mr. Sanchez,

    I sent my daughter to school today because I did not want to hurt the local teachers. They work hard and are devoted to teaching our children. I cannot imagine that they would be happy with their hard earned money being spent on an agenda that clearly only benefits a minority of the members of the CTA. I am confident that your political statement was not the will of the majority of the CTA members and that is the only reason that I sent my daughter to school. I never thought that there was an agenda to indoctrinate my child in the school system until just now. Your actions convinced me gay marriage will in fact be taught in our school system if we do not pass proposition 8.

    Sincerely,

    Erik Rasmussen

  22. jd said,

    October 21, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    I wish I had known about this before this (Tuesday) evening! I am a teacher in California, and I am OUTRAGED, to say the least, at the donation the CTA gave to No on Prop 8. I am fighting for YES ON PROP 8, but even if I wasn’t, how dare they give that much money to an issue that, ACCORDING TO THE “NO” CAMP, has “nothing to do with education and schools” (as stated in a current radio ad, and then in the next breath says “California teachers say No on Prop 8″– WHAT??) AND, how DARE they make that statement/claim– I don’t recall them putting out a vote or a poll or asking us, the teachers, if we say yes or no?!!

    I am not, and have never been, a member of the CTA, purely because my political beliefs are generally not in agreement with those of the CTA– and yet I am required to be an “agency fee payer” and pay the dues anyway. I do receive a portion back each year (the amount that would have gone towards such political donations), so technically “my” money is not being donated towards No on 8, BUT– they are still doing something horrifically wrong and using “my” NAME, so to speak.

    OH I am mad. Other teachers out there, WHAT ELSE CAN WE DO??? Any ideas??

  23. Katie said,

    October 22, 2008 at 12:18 am

    My son stayed home from school and I had a brief discussion with him as to why (he’s in 1st grade). He said if the schools ever start teaching him about marrying 2 guys or 2 girls he’ll cover his ears. Lets keep these kids innocent and protected! Yes on 8!

    Lets not lose focus! We only have 13 days left

  24. Lisa said,

    October 22, 2008 at 8:29 am

    I too sent my kids to school, but we sent letters to the school and CTA about how we felt and are joining with others to raise more money
    ” Please join with Californians everywhere in protest by joining a donation blitz to the Yes on 8 campaign. If only half of the 600,000 people who already donated money gave an additional $10, we would raise $3 million and effectively negate the CTA’s efforts. Imagine what would happen if they donated $20 each. Or $100? To donate, go to http://protectmarriage.com/ and follow the link Donate Now.”

  25. beetlebabee said,

    October 22, 2008 at 9:07 am

    “I wish I had known about this before this (Tuesday) evening! WHAT ELSE CAN WE DO???

    There’s no deadline on letters to the California Teacher’s Association. Send in your letter, make a stink, this guy needs to know who he’s going against.

    Contact David A. Sanchez
    California Teachers Association
    P.O. Box 921
    1705 Murchison Drive
    Burlingame, CA 94011-0921
    Phone: (650) 552-5305
    E-mail: dsanchez@cta.org

    And then make a donation to protectmarriage.com! Offset and nullify the CTA’s misuse of funds!

  26. Abby said,

    October 22, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Beetlebabee, you are amazing and your blog is one of my favs!! I’m proud to stand with you in supporting Prop. 8.

    Thank you for your great post! If you know to stop at a red light, you’d agree it’s unreasonable to say to your child would you like an apple or an apple when you’re holding up 1 apple and 1 banana!!

    For a changing society, we need NEW TERMS to describe the types of relationships people have the free choice to form – not new laws that will put us all in speech & religious bondage.

    Vote not with emotion but with reason; get the facts: http://www.ifprop8fails.org, http://www.protectmarriage.com, and http://www.preservingmarriage.org. Let’s you , me, and our same-sex friends unite to vote Yes! on Prop. 8.

    http://abbyearth.wordpress.com

  27. momof4 said,

    October 22, 2008 at 10:26 am

    I kept my kids out of school and am kind of regretting it. I feel like the school and principal were hurt and they are not the Union. My son missed a test and i am not sure if he will be able to make it up. I think there are other ways to let the CTA know what they did was awful. I spent the day writing letters and calling and doubled my donation to prop 8. But obviously the CTA does not care about the teachers or the classrooms. The biggest problem teachers have is the breakdown of the family. I am very involved in the prop 8 movement and I am thinking this did not help our cause.

  28. Leslie said,

    October 22, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    To the teachers of my (daughter),
    I am contacting you today regarding CTA’s political contributions to the No on Prop 8 campaign. I was asked to participate in a state wide sick out yesterday, October 21, to protest CTA’s actions, and seriously considered participating. However, I placed the immediate financial needs of our school district above my personal feelings, and sent my daughters to school.
    Please consider the message that those contributions are making to parents of public school children in this state. It was my understanding that the Union’s mission is to represent the needs of teachers, and that they can only make donations to issues that affect teacher’s “on the job” needs. Therefore, issues regarding a teacher’s private life should not be addressed by the union. Regardless of how you feel about same-sex marriage, I hope that you will demand a refund of the portion of your dues that were used inappropriately.
    Thank you, (signed)

  29. Lynda said,

    October 22, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    jd,
    You are awesome!!! It’s nice to know that not all teachers have bought the lie. Prop 8 is not about equal rights, because the gays already have that. It’s about putting legitimacy to the lifestyle they have chosen. I can respect them and love them but I do not have to say that which I percieve as bad, is now good…but that is what they want.

    I hope you will e-mail, and or call every teacher you can get a hold of, as well as the CTA and tell them how outraged you are. At the very least the CTA should have remained neutral.

    Keep up the GREAT work jd.

    Lynda

  30. momwithavoice said,

    October 22, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Here’s another way to get the message out that we won’t put up with the CTA’s contribution. Please join with Californians everywhere in protest by joining a donation blitz to the Yes on 8 campaign. If only half of the 600,000 people who already donated money gave an additional $10, we would raise $3 million and effectively negate the CTA’s efforts. Imagine what would happen if they donated $20 each. Or $100? To donate, go to http://protectmarriage.com/ and follow the link Donate Now.

  31. Lynda said,

    October 22, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    This is the e-mail is sent to Mr. Sanchez

    David A. Sanchez,

    I am appalled that you as the President of CTA thought it prudent to give over $1,000,000 to the “No on Prop 8” Campaign. Parents all over California have been afraid that the defeat of Proposition 8 would adversely affect our children’s education, that there would be a constant slant in all that our Teachers offer, that would try to legitimize homosexuality.

    How incredibly arrogant of you and the CTA to try and push through the legalization of same sex marriage, when the people of California voted to have the definition of marriage to be between a man and a woman, a few short years ago. Obviously you all think you know what is best for our children, and we should no longer have the right to guide our children to have the ideals we hold dear. At the very least the CTA should have remained neutral on this issue, so that parents could feel as though there were a possibility that the whole same sex union idea could be approached with some objectivity.

    Your actions in regard to Proposition 8 have made it clear that parents have much to fear if Prop 8 is defeated. I am convinced that your actions here are just a hint and a whisper of what is to come in our school system, and it really scares me.

    I am the mother of 7 children and have had my children in California public schools every year for the past 27 years. I have 4 years left to go with my youngest. If Prop 8 is defeated, I intend to bring my children home, and home school them myself, and I know at least 20 other families who feel the same. How many families to you think will “jump ship” so to speak if Prop 8 is defeated? I would venture to say that there would be many unemployed teachers and administrators throughout the state of California….so you have apparently not only caused harm to families and children, but also the very teachers who rely upon the support of the CTA.

    I want to make it perfectly clear that neither I nor anyone in my family would ever treat a same sex couple with any degree of disrespect, but Prop 8 isn’t about equal rights, because they already have them. I believe they simply want the world to validate their lifestyle so they no longer need to feel uncomfortable about living their lives contrary to the laws of nature.

    Mr. Sanchez, I fear you have just made the biggest mistake of your life. You ought to think twice (or three times) before you take on the concerned parents of California. Our voices will not be silenced.

    Sincerely,
    Lynda Clarke

  32. beetlebabee said,

    October 22, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Lynda, wow. What a great letter. It has been my observation that trends are tending to lean towards a mistrust of parents as capable child caregivers. There is a movement out there to have more involvement of the schools and the government in kids’ lives. The idea is that they know better than we do how to raise our kids. I think it’s a false idea, and a dangerous one.

  33. A CTA Teacher that supports 8 said,

    October 22, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    I’m a member of the CTA and I was appalled when I heard that CTA had donated over 1 million to the “No on Prop 8″ campaign!

    However, asking CA teachers to withdraw from the Union is no small decision. CTA does provides teachers with many legal protections and benefits. So as much as I disagree with their actions, there is another way for teachers to voice their displeasure, without sacrificing their CTA benefits: The General Fund Allocation Form.

    This form states that teachers can opt to have their dues stay in the general fund and
    not fund political actions. I called CTA for the form, a nice lady there emailed it to me, and I filled out the form and mailed it in. It takes two minutes. I included on my form a sticky note that said “I do NOT agree with CTA’s involvement in Prop 8.”

    If you are a teacher and don’t want your CTA monies going to political campaigns, download this form directly here: http://beetlebabee.files.wordpress.com/2008/10/opt-out-form.pdf

    By teachers filling out this form:
    1) No school funding is effected
    2) Monies donated by teachers cannot be used in political campaigns. (Even if only 100 teachers fill out this form, that is at least $20,000- $30,000 taken out of their political funds!)
    2) Teachers do not lose benefits and protections CTA can provide.

    Once you get the form, forward the form to other CA teachers you know, send CTA a message that will really effect them!

  34. beetlebabee said,

    October 22, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Hey Spartan, that is wonderful information. I’m all for the most impact for the least pain. That sounds great to me. I’ll post it on the information section of the CTA page also if you don’t mind.

  35. Dianna from Carmichael said,

    October 23, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Dear Mr. Sanchez,

    The California Teachers Association, the organization you lead, exists to protect and promote the well-being of its members, to improve the conditions of teaching and learning, and to advance the cause of quality public education. I can’t help but ask, what does Proposition 8 have to do with advancing the cause of quality public education in our state?

    Quite frankly I am furious that my money, my union dues, are being used in such a manner. CTA’s actions certainly don’t promote my well-being or improve the already difficult conditions in which I teach. By involving CTA in this proposition you have violated your own mission statement. You considered one side of this argument, made it your own, and used my money to support it.

    To say that your decision to oppose Proposition 8 is based on CTA’s desire to promote human and civil rights is not only flawed, it’s a one-sided, close-minded perspective. What about my civil rights to believe that marriage is only between a man and a woman? Where am I being represented as a paying union member of the California Teacher’s Association on this issue?

    Just today I heard an advertisement on the radio stating that California ‘s teachers support no on 8. I am infuriated that you have labeled me, a California teacher, as endorsing something I wholeheartedly oppose simply because I am a teacher.

    In the past I have stood by CTA and my local San Juan Teachers Association as a representative. When called upon, I have willingly spoken on their behalf to local television, radio and newspaper outlets on issues relating to education. But now, Mr. Sanchez, I am angry and disappointed in your leadership. I see clearly now that you represent me in name only, because you certainly don’t represent my well-being, my civil rights and my opinions. If you are unable to capably stand as a leader for all paying members of CTA, perhaps it would be wise to instead stay out of an argument such as Proposition 8 and use your member’s money in a way that helps them better educate their students.

    You had no reason to get involved in this matter, unless you are trying to use the political power and financial backing of CTA as the engine to drive your own personal or political agenda. It’s quite obvious that you are not interested in representing me and thousands of others who share the same opinion.

    I look forward to your response to this concern, particularly a detailed explanation of how you have ethically represented me and held true to CTA’s mission statement in regard to Proposition 8.

    Sincerely,

    Dianna *****

    Third Grade Teacher

    Carmichael, CA

  36. beetlebabee said,

    October 24, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    This one was sent out locally from a teacher in our area:

    Mr. Sanchez,

    I have been a teacher for 30 years here in California . The position the CTA has taken on Prop 8 is a joke. Why is it so difficult for you to show real leadership and stand up AGAINST political pressure? I realize the union is filled with liberal democrats like your self and the people who work for you.

    Your union that you are in charge of does not represent my views and what I believe in. I will no longer maintain my membership in ANYTHING associated with the CTA. If the union has a political stance on an issue, I will find out what it is and vote the opposite. Your views on Prop 8 are morally and ethically wrong. The million dollars spent could have been given to kids that need it instead of supporting a position such as gay and lesbian rights. Are you kidding me? You hide behind the cover of equal rights because you do not have the guts to call it what it is. It is morally reprehensible. The people of the state of California will agree with me, watch what happens on November 4th.

    You are a disgrace to the profession of teaching, to your family and to the state of California .

    I hope one day we can meet so I can REALLY tell you what I think of your liberal view points.

    I hope I hear back from you, I probably won’t because you have no guts. You are a 100% coward! My name is Bill XXXXX and my phone number is (xxxxxxxx)

    I hope to hear from you.

    Bill

  37. beetlebabee said,

    October 25, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    The lady who wrote the “Judy” letter has an opinion piece that she sent out and I posted it on my blog called Hate and Hostility. She’s pretty good when she gets going. The art work on that page is from my son. He and I were at a wave party one week ago when some woman decided she hated us enough to hurl a water bottle, half full, at us. The bottle flew by my son’s head. Luckily, no one was hit, but it does illustrate where the anger is in this campaign. In a side note, we had someone actually spit in our faces at the last one. The gum she was chewing flew right out and hit about a foot from me. You know, this emotional warfare junk comes a lot from women. Surprising isn’t it? You wouldn’t catch a man spitting at a family that’s smiling and waving in support of families, but here’s this woman, overcome with emotion who thinks she should.

    http://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2008/10/22/hate-and-hostility/

  38. beetlebabee said,

    October 25, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    In another side note, my good friend Rita is a middle school science teacher. She and I were talking today and she said that several teachers at her school made arrangements to have the political parts of their union dues sent somewhere else. I’m not sure the specifics of how that works, but she said they could do it without quitting the union and jeopardizing their jobs. Anyway, at least one of the teachers who took this action is actually a no on 8 voter who is livid because when they took votes during an internal union meeting, the teachers overwhelmingly decided that they needed to focus union funds on smaller class sizes because of budget woes and all of that. Then to have the union turn around and pull this, she was spitting nails mad. So, anyway, that’s the report from Rita.

  39. beetlebabee said,

    October 25, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Ok, last bit and then I’m done for today. So David Sanchez actually wrote Rita back! He said that the decision to spend the union money on gay marriage wasn’t his call to make, that the board made it. So. There you go. They ignored the local people and the teachers, and they went with the higher ups. I don’t believe for a minute that somehow the board had control of that money without his input. Sounds like they’re passing the buck under pressure.

  40. beetlebabee said,

    October 28, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    So, our friend Rita has been working over at the school district to get the CTA union dues put to a better cause than the “No on 8″ campaign. They’ve actually made an arrangement where the dues come back to the school district for use by the schools instead of CTA political causes. There are many teachers on board with this, Yes on 8 teachers as well as no on 8’s, the CTA not only spent 1.2million against prop 8, they also spent another half million against the parental notification (prop 4)….without asking the teachers, and after the teachers had already voted to use the funds for decreasing class sizes.

    More juicy details to come. It looks like most of the middle school teachers are on board. If a few other schools could make arrangements like this, we could break the CTA.

  41. beetlebabee said,

    October 28, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    David Sanchez personally called Bill (see red-headed letter above) to ask him not to go through with this deal. Bill of course refused. Yay Bill! Yahoo Rita! Go Teachers!

  42. beetlebabee said,

    October 29, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Folks-in the name of CA teachers who do not agree with CTA, I share the following.

    The local union informed us today that only Jehovah Witnesses who are teachers qualify for exemption from CTA union dues ($942.00 yearly) for religious reasons. The rest of us must have money deducted to give to David Sanchez and the CTA board. They get to spend it where and when and how they want. We have no say in their political donations. Our opinions are not sought because it would “take too much time” to find out what the members want their money used for.
    An new twist on “taxation without representation”?

    So CTA has donated $450,000 for No on PROP 4. Teachers cannot give an aspirin to a student and a child cannot have a flu shot in CA without parental consent but CTA figures having an abortion should be a private matter for any girl under 18. CTA can give 1.3 million to vote NO on PROP 8 to support same sex marriage or whatever cause they feel like.

    Teachers who do not agree with their agenda are just out of luck! We need to shut up and pay up and let the Sanchez gang spend in the name of California teachers- business as usual.

    What to do next is the big question. Let the public know our hands are tied.
    Then hear me roar-
    ” I am a CALIFORNIA TEACHER and I am NOT going to take it anymore!”

    Rita Armstrong Los Cerritos Middle School Teacher Thousand Oaks CA

  43. Leslie said,

    October 30, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    It’s not too late – we still have two more school days. Can we try another sick-out, this time with the teachers? I love living in California, and my daughters love their public schools. They’ve begged me to not pull them out, but I will not support the CA Education Department’s lies to parents, teachers, and most of all, students!
    When my son was a kindergartener, he had a best friend – “Danny”. One day he told me that he loved his friend, “Danny”. I thought – “Oh wow, in a few years if you say that the other kids will tell you you’re gay!” If prop 8 fails, it will be the kindergarten teacher telling him, “You’re a homosexual, and the whole class will be your allies!”, and then asking him to join the Gay Alliance Club in his kindergarten class. OVER MY DEAD BODY!!

  44. beetlebabee said,

    November 3, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    You know, it’s really true that the schools have an agenda that is widespread. They even stoop to vandalism of private property. These Conejo Valley Unified School District administrators were found destroying a Yes on 8 sign that they said was too close to school property. They didn’t just ask to have it taken down, they smashed it into the ground, and stole key parts of it so it couldn’t be erected somewhere else.

    http://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2008/11/03/school-board-vandalism/

  45. beetlebabee said,

    November 17, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    They did it again. The CTA stepped in it this time, insulting a highschool girl for daring to write a letter critical of their donation to fight proposition 8. Board members replied, “It’s none of your business.”

    http://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2008/11/17/cta-student-smack-down/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

