Video| Donald Trump: Carrie Prejean Keeps California Crown!

Paparazzi Cheers and Carrie Forgives

This morning a photographer released unauthorized photos of Carrie taken in between shots. That is pretty horrible. A lovely example of how hard people will work to slander someone who has the audacity to say what she believes. Even if! she is a model! and sometimes poses in bikinis/underwear/etc! (shocking).

The video shows the press cheering after Trump’s statement, and shows Carrie forgiving all those who have purposefully tried to discredit the power of her statement: Marriage is between a man and a woman.

Trump said:

“We’ve really studied these photos,” he said. “We’ve made a determination that everything we’ve seen to date that she’s done—some were very beautiful, some were risqué—the pictures taken were acceptable, were fine, and in some cases were lovely pictures. […]

“If Carrie weren’t so beautiful, this never would have come up,” he said. “Carrie is totally beautiful. And her answer, because of that, took on more importance. Unfortunately, that’s the way the press works. You should be ashamed of yourselves.”

Carrie said:

“I would like to thank the thousands of Americans who have sent letters, sent emails, messages…I cannot count the number of fan mail I have received in the past three weeks of people expressing their support to me,” she said, choking back tears. “They have confided in me that they have found hope and inspiration in my story.

“Most importantly, I would like to thank God for trusting me with this large task and giving me the strength to stand by my beliefs.” [source]

Maggie Gallagher’s/NOM’s response here

Timeline here

Fox News story

9 Comments

  1. holly said,

    May 12, 2009 at 11:14 am

    “It’s the same answer that the president of the United States gave,” Trump said. “She gave an honorable answer. She gave an answer from her heart.”

    This whole thing has been just wild, who knew it would have been such a big deal. I bet Paris Hilton’s just kicking himself today for making her into a celebrity.

  2. May 12, 2009 at 11:35 am

    This is a big deal because of the way in which this story has been twisted by the liberal left, from the beginning. Don’t you think it is interesting that we are HAPPY that Carrie Prejean gets to keep her crown, after allegedly posing nude? Don’t we under normal circumstances consider that wrong?

    tDMg

  3. Yours Sincerely said,

    May 12, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Who would have thought common sense could still prevail in this climate of “political correctness at all costs” atmosphere? Good for Carrie! “You shall know the truth, and the truth shall set you free.”

  4. beetlebabee said,

    May 12, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    tDMg,
    I think the question wasn’t so much about her posing nude, but about her speech. Those pictures were merely a tool for her hoped for destruction because of her opinions. Her enemies hoped we’d all go into tizzies over her youthful mistake, which she freely admitted, and come to the conclusion that she must be wrong in her opinions because she was wrong in her judgment. The feeling around this decision says more about supporting her under fire than it does about her mistakes.

    I for one am glad to see that we can hold someone up for their choices, not for “who they are”, but for what they’ve become.

  5. Euripides said,

    May 12, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Unfortunately, gay activists do not buy into this argument since they have willfully given up any ideals based on absolutes – truth, good, evil and so on. That being said, Carrie Prejean’s speech was a brilliant example of the conservative position on the ideals set forth in the 1st Amendment. Gay activists can only maintain their position by suppressing free speech as we’ve seen with Carrie Prejean.

  6. Frisco said,

    May 12, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    It was Perez Hilton who made her famous, not Paris.

    As a homosexual, I support Ms. Prejean. She had all right to say what she believed and Perez Hilton is an idiot for attacking for no reason. The First Amendment is one of the most important amendments, and I’m sorry, it trumps marriage equality.

  7. Brian said,

    May 15, 2009 at 6:10 am

    Donald Trump proved what an idiot he is with his statement… twice.

    First, because he said no one would care what she said if she wasn’t so beautiful. As if the opinions of ugly people don’t matter. Second, because he told the press they should be ashamed of themselves while holding a press conference. Everyone knows he’s the ultimate media whore and he LOVES the press. He’s also blatantly anti-gay. Remember how he treated Rosie a few years ago?

    Carrie has the right to her own opinion, but her opinion is flawed. Here’s one of her recent statements:

    ” I think it’s great that Americans are able to choose one or the other. We live in a land that you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite marriage and, you know what, in my country and my family I think that I believe that a marriage should be between a man and a woman. No offense to anyone out there but that’s how I was raised and that’s how I think it should be between a man and a woman.”

    There are several flaws in this statement. She says we live in a land where you can choose SSM or opposite marriage. That isn’t true. She says “I THINK that I believe.” Shouldn’t she KNOW what she believes? Here’s another:

    “Right — and that’s the thing I really need to think about: am I trying to be politically correct, or do I want to be biblically correct? And I think that I want to be biblically correct. All I could think about when I was standing there, answering that question was, ‘Carrie, what are your beliefs?'”

    The pageant contestant says she knew afterwards that she was not going to win because of her answer because she “had spoken from my heart, for my beliefs, and for my God…”

    Her use of “biblically correct” is very subjective, since it’s all based on interpretation. I see no references anywhere in the Bible to SSM or even monogamous, long-term gay relationships. Anyone familiar with the Bible must know that its marriages were often polygamous, forced, or used as bargaining tools.

    Carrie also claims to speak for her God, which is a scary thought. God can speak for himself just fine, thank you. I wonder what “her God” thinks about her breast implants, her lying, and her fornication?

    Carrie Prejean and Donald Trump are two of the world’s biggest hypocrites. It’s a shame either have been given a platform.

  8. beetlebabee said,

    May 15, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Brian,
    Is it your contention that only perfect people can speak in the arena of ideas?

  9. Brian said,

    May 15, 2009 at 8:41 am

    No. Apparently that is Trump’s contention. ;)

    Everyone has an opinion (including me) and we all become targets when we express those opinions. Don’t think for one second that I don’t get attacked on my blog for expressing my own viewpoints. I know it comes with the territory and I’m not going to give up just because someone tries to intimidate me.

    If Carrie couldn’t handle the heat, she shouldn’t have continued putting herself in the limelight by going on every talk show and news program imaginable. She could have simply issued a statement saying that she stood by what she had previously said and left it at that.

    I totally support freedom of speech, but that freedom comes with responsibilities and consequences. There is no reason to feel sorry for Prejean, Trump, or anyone else for that matter. No one took away their right to express themselves, but we also have the right to point out (via freedom of speech) when those expressions are invalid or hypocritical.

    As much as I disagree with Prejean’s views, I must admit that she has caused much conversation about an important issue. But most of the people that I’ve talked to find her to be less-than-qualified to speak on the issue. After all, these girls aren’t in beauty contests because of their brains.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

