Apron Theory

Troy works to understand string theory.  I go for the whole apron, not just the strings.  An apron is like the friend you never had, who will stick through everything with you, no matter what.  They’ll protect you, look out for you, and keep your best shirt clean when things get rough.

I always wear an apron when I’m at home.  I don’t go for those cute little half size dillies with ruffles, I go for the full body armor, BBQ style.  I have a theory that aprons promote motherliness.  It’s not the image I think of, it’s the usage.  When a kid comes blaring through the door like an ambulance with it’s siren running, they always make a beeline for the apron, snot, nose and everything.  An apron absorbs worry about what I’m wearing and allows me to focus on kids.  I live my life, I don’t just act it.  I get dirty during the day.  I don’t know how other moms can possibly do it without an army of aprons.  Mine hang on the oven door, in a tidy row, ready for service like little soldiers, ready to take whatever is asked.

The other day we had art lessons, the kids got out the paints, and I got out the aprons.

1 Comment

  1. mommyspy said,

    October 12, 2008 at 1:15 am

    Bless your heart. Keep up the apron tradition. When you dress for your job, it helps you remember what you are supposed to be doing.


Leave a Reply

