Blindsided by Bigotry

The more I walk the streets talking to people about same sex marriage and what they think, the more I’m convinced that when good people are educated and informed, they agree.  Same-sex marriage falls flat in the fact department.  Reliance by the gay movement on civil rights protections has given them a magic shield from scrutiny, as a result they’re weak, and their arguments don’t hold without artificial means.

I was participating in a forum at MercuryNews.com and realized that one of my posts had mysteriously disappeared.  Intrigued, I looked for some of my other posts and found that nearly half had been removed, giving the reader the impression that the opposition posts were overwhelming in the majority.  I am stunned that a news agency, dedicated to honest reporting would stoop to such a measure.

It seems that the gay movement has no limit to the shenannigans they are willing to play to stack the deck and curtail honest, even footed debate.

10 Comments

  1. Tony Sidaway said,

    October 11, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Did you contact the administrators of MercuryNews and ask them why your comments had been removed?

  2. beetlebabee said,

    October 11, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    I noted the missing posts to a fellow poster there who told me that they had an entire thread disappear one day. He’d had missing posts as well but said it was the status quo with this newspaper, one of the editors often posts and is sympathetic to the gay movement. Yanking the entire thread though, he thought was a bit extreme. I’m fairly new to the Mercury, but my posts were, as always, logical and methodical. I’m actually pretty steamed about it. I put a lot of thought into those posts and wanted to put some of those thoughts here.

  3. Tony Sidaway said,

    October 11, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    Why don’t you complain to the Mercury News?

  4. beetlebabee said,

    October 12, 2008 at 12:28 am

    Ok Tony, you’ve given me courage. I’m sending off an information request. We’ll see if they respond. I’ll keep you posted.

  5. beetlebabee said,

    October 12, 2008 at 12:41 am

    rklindt@mercurynews.com
    Mercury News Online Editor

    Mr Klindt,

    I’m not sure who to address this concern to, but several postings of mine have been removed from the forums. I’ve heard this same complaint from other posters with similar views as my own, but always assumed it was for legitimate reasons. Is it the acknowledged practice of the Mercury to remove thoughtful, considerate postings with which they disagree? or are these isolated incidents?

    I would hope that those at the Mercury would be able to put aside politics in favor of free discussion. I put much thought into the missing posts. As it is, I feel that there is little use in participating if the forum is going to randomly censor opposition views.

    –(signed)
    Post name: Beetlebabee

  6. Tony Sidaway said,

    October 12, 2008 at 1:24 am

    Thanks for taking courage. If the Mercury News is arbitrarily censoring comments, that’s wrong.

  7. beetlebabee said,

    October 13, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Well, day two and no response from the Mercury…

  8. beetlebabee said,

    October 15, 2008 at 4:41 am

    Day three and no response from the Mercury…

  9. Tony Sidaway said,

    October 15, 2008 at 10:16 am

    I’m convinced. I think they don’t like what you have to say.

  10. beetlebabee said,

    October 15, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    It looks like they’re not alone either. https://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2008/10/15/censored-for-prop-8/


Leave a Reply

