Ho⋅mo⋅phobe (n.)

phobia

Ho⋅mo⋅phobe (n.)

Ever wonder where that ubiquitously nifty word that doubles as a spiked club actually came from?  Scientists?  Medical Doctors? English Majors? Nope.  Activists!  Convenient isn’t it?

Psychologist and gay activist George Weinberg coined the term homophobia in his 1972 book Society and the Healthy Homosexual, published one year before the American Psychiatric Association voted to remove homosexuality from its list of mental disorders. Weinberg’s term became an important tool for gay and lesbian activists, advocates, and their allies. He was the first to describe the concept as an actual medical phobia.

A phobia is a persistent, irrational fear of a specific object, activity, or situation that leads to a compelling desire to avoid it. —Dictionary.com

A medically irrational fear.  Really.  Anyone who disagrees with the idea that homosexuality is normal has a medically irrational fear?  Isn’t that just name calling dressed up to look like something official?

The only irrational thing involved with the made-up word “homophobia” is the etymology.  The word “homophobia” makes absolutely no sense etymologically as the Greek ‘homo’ means ‘the same’, so literally, ‘homophobia’ means a fear of things that are the same, but who are facts to stand in the way of homosexual activists?

I find it fascinating that the term began to be associated with anyone who disagreed that homosexual orientations were “normal” only one year before the APA itself decided to change the idea of homosexuality from abnormal to normal.

Here we have a medical sounding term describing heterosexuals as mentally abnormal, and within one year, homosexual behavior declared healthy and normal.  Does that not strike anyone else as odd?  Tell me again that the activists had no hand in the APA changing their tune… ’cause even on sale, I’m not buying it.

Check out this article I came across at the New Yorker’s Family Research Foundation.

–Beetle Blogger

Is Hating “Haters” Hateful?

By Scott Lively, J.D., Th.D.
http://www.defendthefamily.com

Hate has a pretty bad name in the world today.  No one wants to be called a hater, especially Christians, which is probably why we get accused of it all the time by our opponents.

Homosexuals are especially fond of calling people haters.  They even invented the word homophobia, which means hate and fear of homosexuals, envisaged as a mental illness (a phobia is an anxiety disorder).

I hate being called a homophobe.  It has such an ugly connotation.  It’s especially unpleasant because, as a Christian, I’m supposed to have a reputation for loving people, not hating them.  So I’ve worked really hard over the years to try to get the homosexuals to stop calling me a homophobe.  I’ve pointed out the difference between hating people and hating their behavior (loving the sinner but hating the sin).  They hated that.  Then I tried “walking my talk” by taking an ex-“gay” man who was dying of AIDS into my family.  My wife and I and our children loved and cared for him during the last year of his life.  They hated that even more.

Then I began asking for guidance from homosexuals themselves:  “Tell me, where is the line between homophobia and acceptable opposition to homosexuality?” I asked.  “What if I just agree with the Bible that homosexuality is a sin no worse than any other sex outside of marriage?”  “No, that’s homophobic,” they replied.  “Suppose I talk only about the proven medical hazards of gay sex and try to discourage people from hurting themselves?” “No, you can’t do that,” they said.  “How about if I say that homosexuals have the option to change if they choose?”  “Ridiculous” they answered. “Maybe I could just be completely positive, say nothing about homosexuality, and focus only on promoting the natural family and traditional marriage?”  “That’s really hateful,” they replied.

After a while, I realized that the only way I could get them to stop calling me a homophobe was to start agreeing with them about everything.  But here’s my dilemma:  I honestly believe the Bible which says that homosexuality is wrong and harmful and that all sex belongs within marriage.  I’ve also read the professional studies and know that “gay” sex hurts people because it goes against the design of their bodies.  And I’m friends with a number of former homosexuals who are now married and living heterosexual lives.  Do I have to give up my religion?  Ignore scientific facts?  Betray my friends?  Is that the only way to avoid being called a hater and a homophobe?

There’s no escape.  A homophobe is anyone who, for any reason, disapproves of homosexuality in any way, shape, manner, form or degree.  This leaves me with just two choices:  agree that everything about homosexuality is natural, normal, healthy, moral and worthy to be celebrated OR be labeled as a mentally ill, hate-filled bigot.

Am I wrong? Is there any way to openly disapprove of homosexuality without being a homophobe?  “Gay” leaders, please set me straight on this.

Because if I’m right, that means the “gay agenda” is to stop everyone from following the Bible regarding sexual matters.  It is, after all, their stated goal to “stamp out homophobia.”  No more religious freedom.  It’s also to suppress scientific research that has reached conclusions they don’t like, especially if it helps people to change their homosexual orientation back to a heterosexual one (ask the doctors and scientists at narth.com what they’ve had to endure).  If it discourages homosexuality, even by implication, it’s homophobic and can’t be used.

There’s a queer reasoning behind all of this.  Homosexuals call me names like bigot and homophobe, condemn my religion, mock my rational conclusions about social issues, impugn my motives, display intense hostility toward my actions, and curse my very existence, all under the justification that I’m a “hater.”  But if I’m a “hater” for civilly opposing what they do, why aren’t they haters for uncivilly opposing what I do?  Such a double standard, in the context of a public debate on “civil rights,” is not just hypocritical, it is surreal.

I admit I have some hate. I hate watching people kill themselves with preventable diseases like AIDS.  I hate seeing children being steered toward unhealthy lifestyles.  I hate having my pro-family views distorted by dishonest journalists, politicians and academics.  And I hate seeing my God being treated like a homophobe for what He teaches in His Bible.

So if you’re not going to stop calling me a “hater” for wanting homosexuals to be saved and healed, or for opposing their political agenda, let’s at least see a little more of that famous “American sense of fair play” in the public debate on this issue.  Hatred of “haters” is hateful too.

18 Comments

  1. { Lisa } said,

    December 3, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    wow!! You have an awesome talent with writing. I hope you dont mind but I have been posting your blogs in my blog and then linking them back to you. Way to tell the truth BB.

  2. zinj said,

    December 4, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Just a question…lets say you were born with SSA. It is implied in your culture that you are evil. There is no place for you at the gospel table. You are told that your love is unlike the love of others. It must be hidden. You are not to share your hopes and dreams and wishes with another in an intimate way. You seek to change but find it is not a choice. You even endure shock theraphy. It is genetic. You find many in your family tree. As a young dedicated saint you serve a mission. You attend BYU in search of belonging. You just can’t compel yourself to be dishonest and trap a unwary mate. You come to terms with who you are. You soon find that the church culture is family culture. Your question your worth. Why is my love not as good as your love? Depression gains a strangle hold on your life. You keep all this hidden while family and friends questions your devotion to the church and family life. You commit….. Are you so stupid to think that Latter Day Saints are somehow SSA free? Are you so stupid to think that we are not out there. Many suffering without help. Are you so stupid to think that the church has made a place for us at the gospel table. What happened to the higher laws of equality and compassion and love. That is the story of Christ.

  3. beetlebabee said,

    December 4, 2008 at 12:30 am

    zinj, I am not sure why you would want to pick a guilt trip with me. I know those with SSA are out there, I have absolutely no problem with that. If this comment you’ve put forth reflects your life, I feel a lot of emotion for you, but the emotion I feel will not lead me to say that homosexuality is healthy and right.

    The problem I have is in the effort to force moral equivalency on a nation of people that already has a religion. Asking people to accept someone with SSA as a human being is different than asking people to accept their actions as moral. There is a clear line between people and actions. The SSA community has blurred that line to say that if you have an attraction, you *are* gay. I would disagree. You *are* a brother or sister first and foremost before any other consideration and I personally advocate love and tolerance for all my brothers and sisters, regardless of their actions.

    The pain of the SSA community is real and heartfelt, but it is far overshadowed by the efforts they are making to coerce society into their mode of thinking. Emotion is a powerful weapon that I see you know how to wield. See through the emotion zinj, turn it around. Would you allow me, in my pain and suffering that is deep and true, to force you to change your deeply held religious beliefs?

  4. ruby said,

    December 4, 2008 at 1:51 am

    this is a perfect example of how homosexual activists want to repress free speech:

    http://gactupdate.wordpress.com/2008/12/04/northern-ireland-remains-a-backwater/

  5. ruby said,

    December 4, 2008 at 2:45 am

    i forgot to say, beetle b, i don’t know what kind of pie you ate over thanksgiving, but your posts are extra rock-star brilliant these days.

  6. Jared said,

    December 4, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Another fantastic post…your blog as a whole is a great resource to those of us who have this issue of how to articulate our feelings in a productive way concerning this whole issue. I have taken the liberty to read and share these words with many of my friends, both who deal with SSA and those who do not, and it has definitely helped both of us see a lot more eye to eye if I was going it alone.

    Thank you for what you do!

  7. ruby said,

    December 4, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    zinj,

    your post also caused me sadness. i think people are more aware of SSA within the church than you know. perhaps you could help people understand. there is nothing inherently evil about SSA, but God asks all of his children to obey his laws. There is no way this can be changed, and yes that means a long hard life. I have the most respect for men and women of all religions who have SSA but choose to live a life which directly follows Christs’ teachings. (no matter what their genetic make up is) (ps. we all born with genetic traits, some are born to be mean, some to be selfish, some to be violent…does this mean its okay to choose the corresponding behavior?)

    People with SSA in the LDS church can hold temple recommends, callings etc, as long as they are living the same commandments as everyone else.

    Christ asks the same of all unmarried people.

  8. Tick Tock said,

    December 4, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    Beetle strikes again. Boy you sure have a way of cutting right to the heart of an issue. I loved your post, but I think I loved your comment in response to zinj even more. Too much of the Id these days, not enough Super Ego. In fact, I think I read something to that effect on another marriage blogger’s site. Hang on… Yep, here you go:

    Love The Most Definitely Does NOT Work

  9. beetlebabee said,

    December 4, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    I got this quote from Opine Editorials over on Kingfisher Column:

    “Marriage is neither a conservative nor a liberal issue; it is a universal human institution, guaranteeing children fathers, and pointing men and women toward a special kind of socially as well as personally fruitful sexual relationship. Gay marriage is the final step down a long road America has already traveled toward deinstitutionalizing, denuding and privatizing marriage. It would set in legal stone some of the most destructive ideas of the sexual revolution: There are no differences between men and women that matter, marriage has nothing to do with procreation, children do not really need mothers and fathers, the diverse family forms adults choose are all equally good for children. What happens in my heart is that I know the difference. Don’t confuse my people, who have been the victims of deliberate family destruction, by giving them another definition of marriage.”

    Walter Fauntroy-Former DC Delegate to CongressFounding member of the Congressional Black CaucusCoordinator for Martin Luther King, Jr.’s march on DC

    I thought it was very applicable.

  10. zinj said,

    December 5, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    Beetle…I know that words at best are a poor form of communication. That being said let me try to explain ourselves knowing that you just don’t get it and never will for obvious reasons. You live in blind obedience compelled by a powerful conviction in your religious views. I live in that place also. I also realize that these are good men but yet men who largely operate with the same passions as all other men limited at times by their experience.

    “Be unafraid of new ideas for they are as steppingstones to progress. You will, of course, respect the opinions of others but be unafraid to dissent–if you are informed…. Only error needs to fear freedom of expression.” – Hugh B. Brown

    YOU SAID>>> “not sure why you would want to pick a guilt trip with me.”
    I’m not picking on you. I’m expressing my right of free thought. If you want to bury your head in the sand and pretend life is wonderful and that we don’t exist then so be it. I speak from experience here…you do not. You can change your rules of engagement here at this blog and delete us. Many have. It’s messy when things are not clean and tidy. Kind of like the blacks and the priesthood. Truth however perseveres.

    YOU SAID>>> “will not lead me to say that homosexuality is healthy and right.”
    Homosexuality is not a choice. You can play with that all you want. I know. Your therefore are saying we are an evil creation, a lesser creature than you however a creation of God. So God would create unhealthy and wrong. You passions are superior to our passions. Yours are good. Ours are evil. What arrogance for you to suggest that those of less stature than you somehow are not moral. We have the same commitment to our partners. We vote and pay taxes. We have children. We are family. We are patriotic, serve missions, and play baseball. Such evilness.

    YOU SAID>>> “the effort to force moral equivalency”… “efforts they are making to coerce society.”

    Moral equality…may I remind you…

    We hold these truths to be self-evident, that ALL MEN are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator.

    The struggle of this nation from day one has been to FORCE MORAL EQUALITY. This above all else is the founding principle of this nation. One War at a time. One march, one protest, one act of defiance, one color, one gender…..

    Have you forgotten these sacred words…
    A new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal….testing whether that nation, or any nation so conceived and so dedicated, can long endure. ..It is for us the living, rather, to be dedicated here to the unfinished work which they who fought here have thus far so nobly advanced. It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us — that from these honored dead we take increased devotion to that cause…

    What UNFINISHED work? It is for US the living to be so dedicated ….the words of Lincoln condemn you as yet another generation of American bigots deprive other Americans of that sacred oath of EQUALITY. There is no coercion here. This is the our rights as outlined by the founding fathers.

    …to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, — That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it…

    Strong words by a bunch of Revolutionaries who did not let a bunch of bigots deny them equality.

    YOU SAID>>> “I personally advocate love and tolerance”
    Your words and actions condemn you. No one is suggesting that you give up marriage. It is you that deny such a basic human right to those of a lesser creation.

    YOU SAID>>> The SSA community has blurred that line to say that if you have an attraction, you *are* gay.”… “(I) advocate love and tolerance for all”
    Call it what you want. Define it anyway you want….It is not evil. The expression of a God given passion is not evil. It is no different than your passion. Your arrogance is bigotry. Your words condemn you.

    YOU SAID>>>”Would you allow me, in my pain and suffering that is deep and true, to force you to change your deeply held religious beliefs?”
    No one is asking you to do anything. This doesn’t effect you. You have it already. We only want what you have. We’re not taking yours away. It about equality and justice. Simple isn’t it. You keep your beliefs. Freedom of Religion. We keep our rights. “All Men are created Equal” Families prosper. All Committed Latter Day Saints can be at peace. Bigotry goes away. Kind of like Blacks and the Priesthood.

    YOU SAID>>> “See through the emotion zinj,”
    That must mean to look at this in a practical logical way. Let’s see…that means your love is good and right and my love is evil. That logical!! The love is the same. The dedication is the same. The family is at the center of both. Responsibility and Morality at every level is the same. Yours is good and mine is evil. That makes perfect sense!!

    Beetle…we will not disappear. Arrogance and bigotry will continue to raise their ugly head. We have a God given right in this inspired nation to diminish inequality and continue the UNFINISHED work. Unenlightened Latter Day Saints will continue by their prejudices to disillusion choice spirits among them. Many find the discontinence devastating and commit suicide. Others like myself find our way with good friends and family. Most do not find a place at the table of the gospel. The leave or hide in the shadows. Your actions here do not bring souls to Christ.

  11. danny said,

    December 6, 2008 at 1:58 am

    zinj,

    I don’t understand why your are talking about the LDS religion. Are you mormon?

    It’s clear that bb knows people with SSA exist…her blog doesn’t discuss the morality of homosexuality, but rather the merit and consequences of changing the definition of marriage. So far her blog isn’t advocating for SSA people to die or be forced out of the country. She is simply advocating for a healthy society.

    What do you have to say to her claims? (I personally don’t care about the mormons–this is not interesting).
    What do you think about homophobia vs. the desire to organize a healthy society?

  12. beetlebabee said,

    December 6, 2008 at 2:53 am

    What do you have to say to her claims? (I personally don’t care about the mormons–this is not interesting).
    What do you think about homophobia vs. the desire to organize a healthy society?

    Thanks Danny. I actually posted this post because I was interested in hearing about the subject which was posted. I think zinj is making some assumptions because many of my readers are religious that perhaps I am here to discuss theology.

    Sorry Zinj.

  13. Paul said,

    December 6, 2008 at 2:54 am

    May I please reply to the accusation that as a gay activist I have been attempting to repress free speech. I have just reported the outcome of a decision by the Advertising Standards Council for Northern Ireland which found that an advertisement for a church which quoted from The Bible had broken the law. The church had committed a crime. All churches have to comply with the laws of the land in which they operate. If people of religion find something wrong with the law of the land then they should organise a campaign to get that law changed or to obtain exemption from that law. Often such requests for exemptions are met; in this case, the courts decided that they were not exempt. So do not clobber Gay Activists when it is not justified. Doing so merely weakens your argument further.

  14. beetlebabee said,

    December 6, 2008 at 3:01 am

    Paul! This is a very good comment. The problem is that religious freedoms are inherent in men, as is free speech. That is the case whether you are under Irish government or American government or no government at all.

    Repression with the law as a club is repression all the same. If the people of Africa choose to slaughter their millions in a war of attrition, legal though it may be—it does not make it right.

  15. followthatmouse said,

    December 6, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Agreed. Nor is it right to accuse people of repressing freedom of speech when they have not been doing so.

  16. January 20, 2009 at 7:29 am

    zinj, for your information:

    Do you know what the immediate cause was of the Latter-day Saints’ being driven out of Independence, Jackson County, Missouri, when they lost hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of property, and some of them forfeited their lives?

    It was an editorial published in the LDS newspaper there, THE EVENING AND MORNING STAR, entitles, “Free People of Color,” and an editorial filler in the same dition of the paper, in which the editor noted that, “In connection with the wonderful events of this age, much is doing towards aboloshing slavery, and colonizing the Blacks in America.”

    This, remember, was published in the slave state of Missouri bya people alreay being persecuted… In their ultimatum to the Mormons, demanding that they leave or be exterminated, the Mirrourians declared that the Mormons’ policy of allowing the Negro to hold membership in the LDS Church “exhibits them in still more odious colors.”

    If we as members of the Church are going to pick and choose among the Prophet’s teachings, and say “this one is of God, we can accept it, but this one is of man, we will reject that” then we are undermining the whole structure of our faith…

    –Excerpt from the book, Mormonism and the Negro, written by John J. Stewart, and published by Bookcraft in 1960; pages 16-19.

    The author also points out that when Joseph Smith ran for President of the United States, he did so on an anti-slavery platform that was extremely unpopular with the general public at the time. You cannot say that Mormonism ever taught that Blacks were ever less than human, just as they do not teach such things about gays now.

    Never in the history of the world has the priesthood ever been given to people outside of a certain group; the Levites were the only ones allowed to hold it out of all 12 Tribes of Israel. Was this discrimination? Did God think less of the other groups? Of course not. Today, He has extended the priesthood to all men. Now people from all walks of life can speak authoritatively in the name of God. Homosexuality, on the other hand, goes against every aspect of God’s plan for His children and for this reason I am sure He will not command otherwise.

    Hope, however, lies in our turning to Christ:

    And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them. (Ether 12: 27)

    For the natural man is an enemy to God, and has been from the fall of Adam, and will be, forever and ever, unless he yields to the enticings of the Holy Spirit, and putteth off the natural man and becometh a saint through the atonement of Christ the Lord… (Mosiah 3: 19)

    We are all born with desires that are unacceptable to God, but He can help us overcome them if we choose to deny them and accept the atonement of the Savior. Not just homosexuals- everyone.

    PS- Sorry this response is waaaay past the statute of limitations on commenting :) I am a late-comer to this blog so I never saw this one!

  17. InterestedObserver said,

    February 21, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Gay, straight, Christian. I wouldn’t let anyone in this blog through the pearly gates.

  18. beetlebabee said,

    February 22, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Interested0bserver, I’m not sure what you mean there, but welcome anyway!


Leave a Reply

