Google H8 Maps

h8maps1

Facilitating Dreams of Stormy Portent

Martin Luther King had a dream…..but not all dreams aim as high as his did.  Some aim a little closer to home:

“I had a dream. In it I saw HATEFUL actions, but of course I would NEVER advocate any of them.

In my dream the LDS Temple, as well as Catholic and Christian Right churches were vandalized daily since gays decided they all have WAY TOO MUCH MONEY if they can purchase H8 and demonize gays; businesses who supported PROP 8 were also vandalized for the same reason.

White powder shows up in tithing envelopes.

People spray-painted HATE or H8 on the sidewalks outside with arrows pointing towards gay-hating church doors.

Death threats and bomb scares disrupted H8 church services every Sunday across the USA.

I am NOT advocating these measures…..but they would not surprise me either.”

******************

These are the words of one deranged and slightly off-kilter commenter who frequents this site and who obviously has some fairly intense emotional build-up over the passage of proposition 8.

Now, imagine this guy knew you, not personally, but imagine he knew you donated money to the p8 political campaign and decided you had deeply and personally offended him?  Imagine he decided to make it personal in return?  Imagine he knew where you lived, had your street address, including how to get there— and imagine all this information was freely provided on the internet for no other purpose than to harass you?

Welcome to www.EightMaps.com where we provide the h8 maps for you to vent your hate!  Welcome every crazy, loony whack-job and thrill seeker!  If you don’t like how the election turned out, take your frustration out on your good neighbors who voted for it!

Sounds pretty American doesn’t it?  Let’s ask Tom Hanks about that…..but while we’re waiting for a real man’s answer, who is going to stand up and stop this kind of harassment from happening?

Who is going to remind the slightly unhinged gay activists that the election is over, and that it’s time to begin promoting healing and unity?

Not the able Governor.  Not our illustrious Senators.  Not the powerful media watch dogs either, they’re all too busy watching…  All these have shamefully remained in stony silence throughout the ugly aftermath of the marriage campaign.

It is time to step forward and put an end to the ugly politics and personal destruction of people who have the right and freedom to vote their conscience, free from harassment and intimidation.

After all, this isn’t the mafia, Venezuela, or communist Russia, this is America.

—Beetle Blogger

51 Comments

  1. B-Media said,

    January 18, 2009 at 3:38 am

    If the purpose of this map hitlist is to bring “transparency” to politics, why won’t the authors of this site themselves disclose their names or addresses. Why haven’t they said a single thing to the press?

  2. beetlebabee said,

    January 18, 2009 at 3:45 am

    The whole bringing “transparency” to politics issue is with big business, not small individuals. If you’re concerned about politicians favoring big donors, transparency is crucial. In this case, there was no benefiting politician, it was a proposition, not a person who benefited. No corruption or paybacks are possible, and if you click on the addresses of the donors you’ll quickly see that they are targeting small donors.

    It’s all about intimidation for the next time this issue comes around.

  3. Nerozero said,

    January 18, 2009 at 3:49 am

    It’s all about intimidation for the next time this issue comes around.
    You bet it is. How many businesses do you think will be contributing to this issue in four years? How many individuals even? The scare is there already.

  4. SlinkyPea46 said,

    January 18, 2009 at 3:55 am

    I find it very telling that no one has made a peep about creating similar maps with information about No on 8 donations. People on the side of democracy are not vindictive. Gay “rights” activists are sore losers, school yard bullies desperate to intimidate the meek into submission and agreement. It’s pathetic really.

  5. Liberty Belle said,

    January 18, 2009 at 4:07 am

    NeroZero, “The scare is there already.”
    I agree. What’s the worst they could do really? Illegal is illegal, but there’s a whole lot of mischief that can go on before it gets to the threshold of provably “illegal”.

    In a way, they’ve accomplished everything they wanted just by putting the information out there. Everyone who finds out that their addresses and personal details are out there will be cowed whether there’s reason to be or not.

  6. Pearl said,

    January 18, 2009 at 4:09 am

    “slightly unhinged”

    To put it mildly….

  7. rubyeliot said,

    January 18, 2009 at 4:52 am

    BB, thanks for the post. I’d like to ask Tom Hanks what he thinks about the eight maps project. maybe he could make a tv show about it.

  8. { Lisa } said,

    January 18, 2009 at 10:44 am

    What we need is more bold people who are willing to stand up for what is right without fear of what will happen. I know I for one will not be bullied into silence! There is nothing they can do to me that would stop me. THe bible says that we are not to fear what man can do.

    as for Tom Hanks and Oprah both I will not watch one more thing that comes from them or anyone else that supports the gay lifestyle.

  9. Rick said,

    January 18, 2009 at 10:59 am

    The question is what action can be taken? (1) Already there is a proposal to keep all donations in the future private, just like your vote is private. (2) Those of us in Utah will have to step up and take up the slack in donations. I am certainly willing to. (3) Remind people that if many of the No on 8 behave so uncivilized over a Yes on 8 donation, imagine what they would be like if gay marriage becomes legal. We can expect the same sort of behavior, only worse. (4) Vote into office politicians in favor of traditional marriage.

  10. Delirious said,

    January 18, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I have a dream. I dream that we actually get back to the constitution that our forefathers intended. I dream of a country where we actually do things by the voice of the people. I dream of a country that is democratic, not ruled by a slim minority of deviants. I dream of a country that is judged by fairness, not activist judges. I dream of a country of well educated people who really research information, not sheep who follow blindly after leftist actors and the liberal media. I dream of a country that remembers that God exists, and doesn’t make it illegal to speak His name in public. That’s my dream, but unfortunately, real life is a nightmare.

  11. beetlebabee said,

    January 18, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    “if many of the No on 8 behave so uncivilized over a Yes on 8 donation, imagine what they would be like if gay marriage becomes legal.”

    This is the comment of the day! Thanks Rick. It’s only the crack of dawn, but I don’t know if any commenter will come closer to the truth in the next 24 hours than this. This voice of “tolerance” is only a thin skin, a joke, a facade.

    If you think these people who created the maps are just the kook fringe, think again. Look around. No one is condemning what they’ve done on the other side, even among our leaders, because privately they think it’s justified.

  12. Emissary said,

    January 18, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    I have to admit that my fighting side has come out many times since Prop 8 passed. Each time, it makes me wonder how much more I can save so I will have more to give next time.

    And, personally, it thrills my heart to take a look at this map and see how many other people were willing to give. I’m almost tempted to write some of them letters thanking them for their support. But I think that might scare them a little.

  13. teeny said,

    January 18, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    So what we see is a proposition funded NOT solely by a giant, faceless force like the mormon and catholic church, but that the primary source of the donations were from INDIVIDUALS?

    This is chilling. I have friends on that map. WAKE UP, AMERICA!!! HOW IS THIS SLIPPING UNDER YOUR RADAR?? We live in a society that is so scared to tell people they can’t do something…I just read an article the other day about some teenage boy throwing a fit because he wasn’t allowed to wear his “Emo” makeup to school, and was claiming the rule was sexist, because girls are allowed to wear makeup. What a load of garbage. People need to stop assuming that the nation is supposed to cater to their every whim, and not just tolerate, but celebrate them!! They’re not satisfied with quiet acceptance, they want open advocacy, and they won’t stop until they get it.

  14. Jesse said,

    January 18, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    I, for one, am proud to find myself, my family, my friends and fellow ward-members comprising a large percentage of donators on that map. Bring it on!

  15. Frisco said,

    January 18, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    See Beetle, as reference to my other posts, Lisa over here might just fit the bill of bigot.

  16. beetlebabee said,

    January 18, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    Only if you do, Frisco. Her comment smacks of nothing more censurable than heartfelt conviction, which I assume you also feel or you would not be here advocating your position either. There’s nothing wrong with having an opinion, we all have them. There’s nothing wrong with standing up for that conviction and having a voice.

    As much as homosexual activists and proponents would like all those with opinions other than theirs to be intimidated into silence by such name-calling, mentioning the bible doesn’t make you a bigot. Believing the bible doesn’t make you a bigot either. I’d suggest you get back to that dictionary and work it over again.

  17. Raytmimer said,

    January 18, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    From the Urban Dictionary:
    The term bigot means to be willingly ignorant or intolerant of another person’s beliefs or opinions.

    Bigotry is an accusation, which is often used by liberal and marxist types to condemn those people who are not of the same “tolerant” or “open minded” attitude as themselves.

    By using this term they create what I call an infinite loop of intolerance.

    If someone is accused of bigotry then the accusing party must also be intolerant of the accused persons intolerance; therefore, it is self evident that the term bigot in a sense, can not actually exist in a free society or open debate because of it’s self-destructive, self-imploding and hypocritical nature.
    “We must put an end to bigotry by criminalizing any dissenting point of view.”

    Real life application of this “anti-bigotry” includes hate laws, which are no more than Orwellian type “thought crimes”.

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=bigot

  18. Liberty Belle said,

    January 18, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    “I, for one, am proud to find myself, my family, my friends and fellow ward-members comprising a large percentage of donators on that map. Bring it on!”

    Count me in with Jesse! It’s a wall of honor.

    um, Frisco, does that make me a bigot or do I have to mention that I’m religious first? If so, Bring that on too.

  19. Frisco said,

    January 18, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    I never once stated that believing in the Bible makes you a bigot. I think it is entirely foolish, but in no way are you a bigot. We are alike, as we both have strong opinions. However, I don’t go around claiming I refuse to associated myself with anyone who proclaims the heterosexual lifestyle. And, I do not go around asking for discriminatory laws to be placed into effect because I don’t like a certain culture or lifestyle.

    Sure Liberty, why not.

  20. Liberty Belle said,

    January 18, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Frisco, a straw man argument is where you paint something incorrectly simply for the purpose of knocking it down.

    “I don’t go around claiming I refuse to associated myself with anyone who proclaims the heterosexual lifestyle.”

    Lisa didn’t say this, you did.

  21. debbie said,

    January 18, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Talked with a friend who is on the map and did not know of its existence. She has, however, received a few postcards from a gay individual explaining to her how her vote and contribution affected him. Which is fine, except how did he get her address? Scary.

    Today I had a discussion with some of my children about moral absolutes vs. moral relativism, and how hard it makes living a moral life. I did not have to have that conversation with my parents or friends in high school. All of us knew what was right and what was wrong. We just did. Now, thanks to our school system and a few other things, we get to pick what is right or wrong. This will always make it difficult, for us and for our children.

    I love that we here on beetle blog are of one mind. It make me feel like Colonel von Stauffenberg, who tried to kill Hitler or the Bielski Brothers, two movies I haven’t seen but have read up on the people involved. Our job is let our children and the rest of the world know that we did not give up the fight. We were not too tired, too busy or too scared.

    Thank you Beetle!

  22. Euripides said,

    January 18, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    And these people call us bigoted, intolerant and hateful? Makes me want to go out and donate a lot more to keep these wackos away from destroying marriage and, maybe, off the streets.

  23. beetlebabee said,

    January 18, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Today I had a discussion with some of my children about moral absolutes vs. moral relativism…

    Now THAT’s what this is all about! The more we know what’s going on out there,the better we can protect and inform our families. Thanks Debbie! Glad to have you on the team!

    Have you heard of the DNA? Joined?
    https://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2009/01/13/opposition-gearing-up-for-battle/

  24. daniel rotter said,

    January 19, 2009 at 1:21 am

    “I love that we here on beetle blog are of one mind. It makes me feel like Colonel von Stauffenberg, who tried to kill Hitler or the Bielski Brothers,…”

    Delusions of grandeur alert.

  25. { Lisa } said,

    January 19, 2009 at 1:34 am

    Rick,

    One thing we can do is blog and forward important issues to all of our friends and family… something simple yet powerful as most people use the internet these days.

    I also repost on my own blog, the goodies I find here just to get the word out that much more:)

  26. Liberty Belle said,

    January 19, 2009 at 1:41 am

    We can cross technologies and take blog posts and turn them into letters to the editor in our local papers. There are many who could be reached that way.

  27. Rick said,

    January 19, 2009 at 3:20 am

    beetlebabee,

    I’m glad you like the comment. I am an avid reader of your blog, you do a great job.

    Lisa,

    I blog about the issues occasionally. I mix things up though with other topics. You post some interesting reads on your blog also.
    ——————
    I’ve looked at the map and my wife and I are not on it. Must just have the big donors mapped. It just not fair, leaving the little guys off the list. :)

  28. rubyeliot said,

    January 19, 2009 at 4:26 am

    Does the map only list mormons?

  29. Rick said,

    January 19, 2009 at 4:37 am

    I don’t know. I don’t think they have everybody on. If enough of my neighbors show up I might be able to tell. I would think it doesn’t distinguish between Mormon and non-Mormon. As I said before my wife and I aren’t listed. I looked on the map for Utah and saw several donations for $100. A $99, $50, and a $20. Maybe they are still updating it. Talk about sore losers.

    Now what would be interesting would be to have the same map with the Yes on 8 in one color and the No on 8 in another color.

  30. rubyeliot said,

    January 19, 2009 at 4:54 am

    that would actually be interesting

  31. beetlebabee said,

    January 19, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Rick, our family donated several times, but only two are listed. I did notice that the amount of the donation is related to the level of zoom on the map. If you look at the whole earth, there are only four or five donor markers, and they’re 500k, 2 mil, etc. Zoom in a little closer and it shows the whole united states with 200k type donors (plus the big ones), zoom closer and closer and finally it will show even the little guys. I found milk money donors on there even. This was truly a grass roots campaign. If they had donors for the no side, it would show that very clearly. Their average donation was much higher. A few heavy hitters is all they have, but we had even the grandmas with their pension pennies.

    Ruby, the donations are not sorted by religion. Colorado has major donations from Focus on the Family.

  32. rubyeliot said,

    January 19, 2009 at 7:27 am

    awesome.

  33. Rick said,

    January 19, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    beetlebabee,

    I noticed the same thing, that you had to zoom. We are definitely not on the map even though others have lower amounts of donations. I think this is discriminatory and a violation of my rights. :)

  34. beetlebabee said,

    January 19, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Well, if you decide to sue, find out for me who put this up. So far it’s “anonymous”. I’d like to research how brave Mr. Anonymous ties in politically.

  35. { Lisa } said,

    January 19, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Liberty bell,

    Thati s an awesome idea! Our local newspaper has an “voice your opinion” spot that allows you to put what you want in there.

    I will be using that.

    Rick,

    Thanks. All the posts I have so far are ones I have gotten off This blog:)

  36. Mel said,

    January 19, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    This is totally and completely absurd! I can’t think of a time in my life that I’ve seen more irony or hypocrisy. To call the supporters of Prop 8, hateful, is shocking to me, when you see THIS type of behavior from the No on 8 people. I really can’t even find the words to express what I feel at this time.

    I reminds me again of what someone spoke about on a recent thread, about driving down the street and seeing No on 8 people on one side, and Yes on 8 on the other side of the street. We all remember seeing that, and it was like “night and day” wasn’t it? The differences between the two sides was astonishing. And here we see it again. Every move they are making takes them deeper into a truely hate-filled world. And yet they say we are the hateful ones. ASTONISHING!

  37. Raytmimer said,

    January 19, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Mel, you’re right, I remember seeing the two sides of the street, so opposite. It made the difference so clear between the ideologies.

  38. Randy said,

    January 19, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    It was Prop 8 organizers that threatened businesses with “public exposure” and retaliation if they would not contribute funds to “yes on 8.” I say, go ahead and publicize your lists, most of us are not ashamed of supporting fairness and equal treatment for all citizens as guaranteed in the Constitution. Prop 8 only passed because of lies and ignorance. Is the state going to repay the 18,000 married gay couples for their wedding expenses?

  39. Holly said,

    January 19, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Rick, if it makes you feel better, I’m not on there, either, though it seems like I definitely should be based on the other donation amounts. Though I did find people on there right around me who I don’t know (I go to a singles ward that’s based out of a different stake, so I don’t actually know any of the LDS families in my area), so it was good to know I’m not alone in my neighborhood.

    In a way the map is very interesting, in that it shows that there are far more supporters than many of the No people probably thought. Especially in the Bay Area, where I live. And if there are more people like Rick or myself who donated but aren’t represented on the map, it truly goes to show that supporters of traditional marriage are everywhere. And if some of the other side think they can refuse to interact with anyone who supporter Prop 8, that could be a truly daunting task.

    Also, hi all. Just came out of lurkdom to post this.

  40. Holly said,

    January 19, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    And I should have clarified that of course it’s likely that not all the people on the map around me are even LDS in the first place. I didn’t mean to imply that. Rather, just meant to say that there’s no way I would know even the ones that are, simply because of my circumstances.

  41. beetlebabee said,

    January 19, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Holly, Shirk in the lurkdom no longer! :-) Welcome to the light of commentary! Glad to have you!

  42. { Lisa } said,

    January 20, 2009 at 2:23 am

    Randy,

    What lies would that be? and ignorance of what exactly?

  43. rubyeliot said,

    January 20, 2009 at 2:54 am

    Journalista has the links to send the New york times a letter, holly you should write them a little note pointing out how the map shows the tons and tons and tons of donors even in areas that stereotypically wouldn’t donate.

    in fact everyone should send the NY times a little note it doesn’t take long:

    http://thejournalistachronicle.wordpress.com/2009/01/19/h8-map-update-write-to-the-ny-times/

  44. richal said,

    January 20, 2009 at 4:06 am

    Obviously this is the totally wrong thing to do on many levels (scaring people into advocating gay marriage). Not only is it turning people against it who might otherwise be open to listen to reason, but it’s demonstrating total hypocrisy.

    At the same time, donors to the yes on 8 campaign should understand the immense frustration experienced by others at being denied rights by the state for many unfair reasons. I find this statement to be rather comical, considering how many gay people feel the same way: “It is time to step forward and put an end to the ugly politics and personal destruction of people who have the right and freedom to vote their conscience, free from harassment and intimidation.”

    Also, think back to the civil rights movement. Yes, we had MLK, but what about Malcolm X? It’s the same sort of thing happening again. As wrong as it may be to vandalize and threaten prop 8 proponents, it might be beneficial to try to understand their perspective and pain as well – I think you might find it’s still less favorable to be gay. It’s very unfortunate that these people are doing what they’re doing, and that it’s turning others against them even more (which, to me, seems predictable).

  45. January 20, 2009 at 5:24 am

    Randy: RE: Your comment:

    It was Prop 8 organizers that threatened businesses with “public exposure” and retaliation if they would not contribute funds to “yes on 8.”

    Actually, the Yes on 8 campaign asked public companies and service monopolies (utilities companies, for example), that had already donated to No on 8, to give equal donations to Yes on 8 so that they would not alienate the majority of their customers. This was also long after the gross publicization of Yes on 8 donors’ info. No retaliation was ever suggested by the Yes on 8 campaign, except possibly customers spending their money elsewhere, which is legal in a free society. No other “retaliation” was mentioned.

  46. talkinmama said,

    January 26, 2009 at 4:16 am

    I wonder what would happen if Tom Hanks’ home was marked on a map? None of us would persecute him, but he and his supporters would have a COW! This is always so one-sided. The liberal side calls us terrible names, then truly acts out the bad behavior when no one is looking. I can promise that I have never thrown an egg, yelled (or whispered) a slur, or threatened someone’s life or livlihood. Yet I am called a hateful bigot. I don’t get it.

  47. richal said,

    January 26, 2009 at 5:01 am

    uhh, I would “persecute” him – rest assured I would definitely question his morals and my liking of him (though surely not base my judgment of him purely on this).

    It’s funny how you say that the liberal side is calling you all names when you haven’t done anything, since you’re generalizing liberals into this big group of bad-behaving egg throwers. You don’t have to be an egg-thrower to be a bigot, either, in case you didn’t know.

  48. January 26, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    richal:

    1) Persecution is not merely passing judgment, it is taking action against someone. My opinion of Hanks has turned 180 degrees since his recent comments, and I threw out a few of his movies, but I definitely am not persecuting him.
    From Yourdictionary.com:

    to afflict or harass constantly so as to injure or distress… to trouble or annoy constantly

    2) To say that the denigration is coming from the Liberal side is a generalization, but a factually correct one. The terms “Liberal” and “bigot” all apply to actions, including words and attitudes, and not to people in general. “Conservatives” tend not to hold protest rallies, or threaten individuals lives or livelihoods. They also tend to keep their attitudes to themselves, and let others vote their consciences. “Bigots” on the other hand, tend to take action against the object of their bigotry, including name-calling, and threatening physical harm. So, if we look at the definitions of these terms, we know who we are up against. Remember, “if the shoe fits…”

  49. January 27, 2009 at 12:10 am

    […] pledge to to never capitulate to domestic terrorists, regardless of how they may threaten those who share my religion or social […]

  50. richal said,

    January 27, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    D.RollingKearney:

    True, there is denigration coming from the liberal side – I’m not saying it’s not. But I’m saying the way it was worded makes it sound like it’s only liberals doing these bad things and that conservative yes-on-8 donors are victims. remember, if you’re for same sex marriage, you might consider this in itself an offense to basic rights or some other matter. And I don’t think you can say that liberals “tend” to hold protest rallies, since I believe it’s only a small percentage of people doing this. I could say that conservatives tend to be bigots because there is a group of them who hold rallies claiming “God hates Fags” though I know in reality, most do not. I don’t know, I just think the wording is generally misleading, even if it is certainly true in some instances.

    Also I’m not aware of what Hanks said, so I was just referring to it in general terms… I’ll have to look into it. Maybe that’s what’s causing this dissent, me not knowing what was actually said…

  51. January 28, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Exactly what I was saying. I guess it would have been better worded to say that the people doing the protests are, in general, Liberals, instead of, as you phrased it, that “it’s only liberals doing these bad things,” which no one is implying. The Yes on 8 rallies, of which I attended several, were all very dignified and the people were well-behaved. They even went out of their way to be polite to the No on 8 protesters who showed up and even tried to crash the proceedings of at least two rallies.

    The “God hates fags” crowd, on the other hand, are not very acting in a very Conservative manner. Conservatism and extremism are polar opposites, no matter what rationale you use. The root word, after all, is conserve, which implies holding back.


Leave a Reply

