Proposition 8’s Secret Weapon

The Face of Prop 8 –The People

For those who weren’t in California during the Prop 8 battle—

For those who think the election was bought with big outside donors—

For those who might be tempted to believe the “Mormon Church” won prop 8—

For those who may forget—

and For those in denial—

See a glimpse of how it really was.

10 miles of community support, stretching down the PCH Highway in Southern California, this is all grass roots effort here, no paid volunteers, just people, spending a few hours on a Saturday to express their support for families.

Seven miles of community turn out for the Sacramento “wave”.  In the rain!   That was the dedication of the families and individuals who voted, and this is only a small glimpse of the unprecedented grass roots effort that went on.  There has never been such a massive grass roots effort for a proposition as there was this fall in California.

Millions came out to join us.  Moms, dads, grandmas, grandpas…young people, old people…just regular people.

Now see the contrast, not BEFORE the election…the “no” side only showed their grass roots dedication AFTER the election:

Beetle Blogger:  On Prop 8, Who Owns The Hate?

Beetle Blogger: Gay Pride and Prejudice– Hate Continues

28 Comments

  1. Lillian said,

    February 4, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    I love this. I was there. You know why we’re all holding our yellow yard signs? Cause if we didn’t hold them, they were stolen! I couldn’t put my sign in my yard or it’d be ripped or gone the next day.

    The opposition was so determined to take away our voices, we personally had five yard signs disappear, and three vandalized. I love that picture with the lady and the sign that says, “You can steal our signs, but you can’t steal our votes!” That’s exactly it.

  2. Delirious said,

    February 4, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    I was just thinking back to the days that I got out and walked door to door talking to people. I wasn’t there to convince people. I was there to just find out who supported Prop. 8. Some of the people I met were against it, but they were respectful of me, and I was respectful of them, and I moved on to the next door. There was no brow-beating, no intimidation, just friendly conversation. But I believe that grass roots effort was crucial in helping others to no be afraid to stand up for what they believe.

    In a sense the Mormons were a major reason that Prop.8 passed. It isn’t because of money donated, but because we were the main group out there walking the precincts. We got involved because this was an important moral issue for us. I have since been involved in other important political issues. For us, it is all about combatting the attacks on the family in today’s society. It’s about ensuring that children have the right to grow up in a family with a father and a mother.

    Children need the influences of both a father and a mother. If a same sex couple thinks that by having women friends or male friends they can give their child the same influences they would miss by not having that gender of parent, they are sadly mistaken.

    I know that the same sex marriage supporters are reeling from the shock of losing their battle, but where were they when I was out walking door to door?

  3. beetlebabee said,

    February 4, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Delirious, you’re absolutely right, LDS people as citizens participated in huge numbers, and that made a big difference. The people were the secret weapon, not the money or the influence. Getting involved heavily and early on made a difference. It’s something grass roots campaigns in other states can learn from. The hardest thing to accomplish in a grass roots campaign is having people informed enough to know when they’re needed. Churches are a huge information outlet, and they’re self organizing. They definitely had an impact motivating their congregations and letting them know of the dangers involved if prop 8 was lost, and then those people could go out and tell other people, and it went like wildfire from there.

  4. Mark said,

    February 4, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    It’s interesting how the “no” side always likes to point fingers, but where were they before the election? Where was their grass roots effort?

  5. Mark said,

    February 4, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    I love the videos by the way. I’ve seen other similar ones on Youtube, but not these. Thanks.

  6. Heather said,

    February 4, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    I agree that the no on 8 campaign didn’t do a good job reaching out through grass-roots efforts to Californians and that was a huge reason for 8 passing. However the sign-stealing happened on both sides. No on 8 signs were stolen as well as pro 8 signs. This entire debate brought out the worst in a lot of people on both sides.
    In the upcoming court battle over proposition 8 ( Which has more to do with removing what was defined legally as a fundamental right from what was legally defined as a suspect class and the legal implications for removing rights such as free speech from other suspect classes such as churches by mere popular majority rather than through legislatural 2/3rds vote and then the populous) I hope that both sides can manage to remain adult-like in their conduct. Best of wishes to you and yours and I do applaud you for going out and talking with people about what was important to you. I wish more people on my side had realized the seriousness of this and had done the same.
    God bless!

  7. Raytmimer said,

    February 4, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Heather,
    While it may be technically true that signs may have been stolen on both sides of the issue(I haven’t heard of ANY on the no side being stolen…), the theft, vandalism and violence was extremely one sided. It does the yes side a complete disservice to promote mitigating statements implying “everyone is doing it”, because everyone wasn’t. The vast majority of these incidents were clear and documented attacks on the Yes voters, both before and now since the election.

  8. Heather said,

    February 4, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    I actually posted with good will intended in my post.

    What I said was that signs were taken from no on 8 people because..well. They were. And nobody seems to notice that. (I personally know people whose signs were taken as well as having heard of others who this has happened to. Just because you haven’t heard doesn’t mean it didn’t happen.)

    I said that BOTH sides acted badly. It was not a way to lessen the bad things people on our side did. ( Which as a community we’ve told them was wrong and to stop it. We can only do so much to stop idiots from doing stupid things just as your side can’t control every gay-bashing person who joins up and uses your cause to attack gays. [ side note, violence against gays increases every time an issue about gays is being voted on. See what happened to the Jane Doe in Richmond to be appalled at what some people will do.])

    I brought up that idiots were doing stupid things on both sides as a way to point out that there were indeed idiots on both sides and that I don’t view your entire group by the very vocal and misinformed idiots running around making your position look bad. Just as I’d hope you wouldn’t view our entire group by the very vocal and misinformed idiots running around making our position look bad. I think this broad-brushing of communities is bad for everyone involved.

    I was attempting to instill some good will back between our communities. Your side ran a better campaign and I was trying to offer congratulations on that. I was not attempting to absolve my side or your side of the wrong things that people have done or to lessen them. Merely to say that as human beings I hope people can learn to be civil to each other and stop the idiocy both large and small. I will continue to try and reach out to people on the pro-8 campaign as well as reaching out to people on the anti-8 campaign in an effort to get everyone to listen to each other and be respectful.

    *sigh* I feel like the more I try to fix things, the worse I”m making them. I’m not trying to mitigate anything, I am also not trying to say your side was a perfect model of goodness either because I don’t believe that to be true. I’m just trying to say, hey – Some of us did try to be decent people and you guys here seemed to have acted like decent people as well and wouldn’t it be nice if we could all be decent people over topics we strongly disagree on?

    God Bless. – Heather

  9. { Lisa } said,

    February 4, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    To me its like your comparing both sides as if it were anything close to being alike. Yes on 8’rs may have had a few (like a light sprinkle) bad apples but the no on 8’rs had throngs(like a huge downpour)of gays that were acting badly and are still very hatefully, acting badly and trying to get revenge on the opposing side. Look at the actions of the people and you will see the true spirit of who they are on the inside. IMO

  10. Heather said,

    February 5, 2009 at 3:17 am

    “Look at the actions of the people and you will see the true spirit of who they are on the inside” …. Are you really judging an entire group by the actions of only a part?
    I certainly did not attack anyone, nor have I lashed out hatefully at anyone. I have tried to talk with people respectfully regarding prop 8. I intend to not patron businesses that put their money towards removing my rights, but that’s my right as a citizen. Yet I feel like you’re painting ME in the same “true spirit” brush you are painting the entire gay community. That is what I am taking offense to. I agree that the bad apples in the gay community have done reprehensible things. What exactly ARE you wanting me to say, though? That we’re all bad? I certainly don’t believe that. If you do, I guess that’s your choice. I personally think it’s sad if that’s your opinion because it’s highly misinformed, but you’re entitled to it.

    I was not comparing sides. I was trying to make it clear that I wasn’t comparing. I’m not sure how else to make that clear. I was attempting to hold out an olive branch and say “I hope both sides can act respectfully to each other.” as in Hey. We all gotta live together, I hope we can learn to get along. I even complimented the pro-8 side.
    I was just hoping to represent the part of the gay community that trys to be civil to people, even if those people are stripping away our fundamental rights. Maybe some day down the road what I was trying to do will become clear and you’ll realize that I’m not an ‘evil gay’ out to get all prop 8 people and that there are decent people on both sides as well.

    To be honest I’m a little frustrated tonight due to other people so I apologize if my reply comes off badly. Please try to see my intent in this and to honor it as I am in all honesty trying very hard to affirm what you are saying about being upset regarding the amount of hateful things some people on my side have done and also affirming that I agree they were wrong to do those hateful things and that the gay community that I associate with in no way condones or approves of that section’s behavior. There’s not really any more I can give tonight. Best wishes and may God continue to watch over you and yours as he does me and mine.

  11. February 5, 2009 at 3:32 am

    { Lisa } “…the no on 8′rs had throngs(like a huge downpour)of gays…”
    It was raining men?

  12. { Lisa } said,

    February 5, 2009 at 5:20 am

    Heather,

    Just the entire groups that did and are still acting that way.

    And just a little advice, when holding out an “olive branch” dont point the accusing finger at the same time, thats all I was trying to say.

    You said you’re trying to represent that part of the gay community that is trying to be civil? well that is a very small part….very small.

    Mod,

    lol yes, hatefilled men….and women.

  13. February 5, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Thanks for the post BB I’m pleased that the proposition was passed.

  14. Heather said,

    February 5, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Lisa –
    Is it so necessary to continue pushing at me about the gays in my community who are acting wrong? Is not me apologizing for them, saying it’s not condoned, saying I don’t associate with them. Is that still not enough? When begrudgingly admitting decent gays exist, must you still have to throw a jab and call it only a very small part? Let me give you advice – When someone tries to offer an olive branch, repeatedly pointing an accusing finger doesn’t make them want to try at all.

    You all were apparently completely unaware your side stole signs. It was not an accusing finger saying all 8 people stole signs and are hateful. It was a restricted ‘some people’ to show that you are welcome to disassociate with people who acted that way.

    I am giving up on reaching out to you all here. If you want to view all gays as the same ( stereotyping), by all means. I will continue to view individuals on their own merits. God bless.

  15. { Lisa } said,

    February 5, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I am not pushing at you, I am simply saying that there arent just a few gays that are acting badly, that is why pictures and video of them actling badly is everywhere you look, because it is the majority of gays that are acting that way.

    And the reason we didnt know about signs being stolen from our side is because it is either untrue or such a rare occurance that noone bothered to talk about it. And believe me if it was happening all over the place the gays would be screaming it from the roof tops or um, the fence tops.

    I am only viewing all the gays that acted the same, as the same…. I have yet to run across one that is not behaving badly…

  16. Mel said,

    February 5, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    Heather,

    Thanks for reaching out to a group of people with whom you have differing opinions. You were respectful and kind. I think more of us on BOTH sides need to try to do that…to try to extend the olive branch, so to speak. I really appreciate your attitude in trying to mend fences. This is a very heated topic, and emotions are running high on both sides. I think we’d all agree that it certainly has brought out the best in some people, and the worst in some people….on both sides of the issue.

    Hopefully we can see more of the “best of people” in the future! =)

  17. February 5, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    { Lisa } “And the reason we didnt know about signs being stolen from our side is because it is either untrue or such a rare occurance that noone bothered to talk about it..”
    Well, it’s not untrue. Emotional topics bring out the worst in everybody. Even I got so wound up that I…I…I bit the head off a gummibear. I felt so bad afterwards that I turned myself into the police.

    “I am only viewing all the gays that acted the same, as the same…. I have yet to run across one that is not behaving badly…”
    I see one on this very page who is going out of his or her (sorry Mel. That’s a name/nickname common to both sexes) way to be civil.

  18. beetlebabee said,

    February 5, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Secular H. You’re welcome. It was a unique election to be sure, but one we’ll probably see repeated in the future as the issue continues to heat up.

  19. February 6, 2009 at 6:35 am

    I feel the need to offer my two cents on this post. I was out waving signs in Sacramento on several occasions. I also attended 6 or 7 rallies in support of Prop 8. The Yes on 8 rallies were all, every one of them, peaceful, calm, and respectful – except for the No on 8 supporters who brought with them all the hate, vitriol, and yelling they could muster. In contrast, Yes on 8 people gave water, food, and even reassuring comments to the No on 8 supporters that were picketing outside our rallies.

    Like others, I never heard of a single person who stole a No on 8 sign. Or who removed them from their place along the street when putting out Yes on 8 signs. Or who cursed out a Yes on 8 supporter or threatened to kill them. Out of goodwill we continue to grant the possibility that someone, somewhere, had their No on 8 sign stolen, but I think it’s more of an acknowledgment that we aren’t perfect so it’s a possibility. Either way, it’s extremely misleading to mention Yes signs being stolen along with No signs being stolen in the same sentence. It’s kind of like saying, “Sure Jews died during the Holocaust, but the Nazis lost people, too!”

  20. February 6, 2009 at 6:45 am

    Whose marriages were annuled, the Nazis or the Jews?

  21. February 6, 2009 at 7:37 am

    In California you can’t annul something which never existed. Homosexual marriage is impossible. We would have to change human nature to make it happen. You can call homosexual unions a marriage but this does not give them the reality of marriage.

  22. Mel said,

    February 6, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Modus,
    ” ‘ I am only viewing all the gays that acted the same, as the same…. I have yet to run across one that is not behaving badly…’
    I see one on this very page who is going out of his or her (sorry Mel. That’s a name/nickname common to both sexes) way to be civil.”

    I believe you were probably referring to Heather. I am a heterosexual Prop 8 supporter. However, I do agree that she did go out of her way to be civil and try to reach out on this forum. She was trying to reach out and bridge some gaps. And I applaud that kind of behavior. Civility should always be acknowledged and appreciated. That being said, I don’t necessarily agree with all of the points she made. But again, that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate her trying to reach out.

  23. February 6, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Wups. I’m terrible with names. Faces, too.

  24. February 7, 2009 at 4:33 am

    Secular,

    I love that, “the reality of marriage!” What you said is so true, they will never have a real marriage, legalized or not. It seems homosexuals are trying to hide from the realities of their relationships of abuse, sexual bizarro-ism (i know, that’s not a real word) infidelity and lack of real commitment, and they are pretending that they don’t already have all of the “benefits” that a married couple does. Letting them get legally married won’t change or improve any of those things.

    Great post Beetle! Thanks!

  25. { Lisa } said,

    February 7, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Jc,

    your right “bizarro-ism” is not a word but then again neither is “homophobic”!! hehe but at least yours makes sense!

  26. rubyeliot said,

    February 8, 2009 at 4:14 am

    I’d also like to thank heather. olive branches are always welcome.

    my mom and our neighbor disagreed on prop 8. they both put signs up at the top of our little private road in california. both the signs were stolen at different times. but, the yes signs were stolen with more frequency and speed.

    anyways, they remain friends.

  27. beetlebabee said,

    February 8, 2009 at 4:24 am

    For an entire month before the election, we had volunteer patrols in our area that would take shifts watching the larger signs. They switched off every four hours all night, every night. We caught several groups of people out destroying property at 2am. I personally had to make three different reports for theft and vandalism on my property during prop 8.

    The first night the p8 signs were out, we lost six of them at 60.00 each. They were the large signs that were specially printed. That was a pretty shocking thing, so we set up the night watch groups. Between 75-100 guys rotated through the shifts watching the harder to replace signs. I can’t imagine people going out and destroying property like that, it just boggles my mind. As the campaign progressed, the signs began being stolen and defaced even in the daytime.

    By far the worst instance of vandalism and destruction was committed by members of the school board at a property adjacent to the district office. They came out with hammers and destroyed a giant 30 foot sign in broad daylight:
    https://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2008/11/03/school-board-vandalism/

    But it ended well after all:
    https://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2008/11/04/hooray-for-the-baptists/

  28. Pearl said,

    February 9, 2009 at 3:40 am

    Beetle, we had the same experience. The signs in one neighborhood in our precinct were stolen, on a massive scale, every time new ones were put up! One military man caught a couple of teenagers on camera, being prodded by their dad, to steal his sign…for the second time…in broad daylight. There is something chillingly wrong with people believing they and their convictions are above the law.

    I absolutely agree with what D. Rolling Kearney said, “it’s extremely misleading to mention Yes signs being stolen along with No signs being stolen in the same sentence. It’s kind of like saying, “Sure Jews died during the Holocaust, but the Nazis lost people, too!””

    It puts me in mind of a television news report I saw regarding a little, old lady in Palm Springs whose cross was torn from her hands and stomped on during a No on 8 protest. At the end of the report, the ridiculous newscaster actually had the gall, the audacity to suggest that there was “a lot of anger and a lot of hate, quite honestly on both sides”!! I just sat staring at my television screen, dumbfounded at his blatantly biased suggestion that one tiny, old woman declaring her religious beliefs, no, not verbally, but with a cross, can be considered as hateful as the big tough men surrounding her, physically intimidating her, threatening her, screaming in her face, and swaddling her head in their No on 8 signs.

    Yeah, no. No comparison there. Not one bit. Here, see for yourself:

    Old Lady Attacked by Gay Activists

    The quote in question occurs at the very end, right when you’re beginning to tune out for knowing the clip is drawing to a close. Pay attention. It’s ridiculous.


Leave a Reply

