What is the Federal Defense of Marriage Act?


Defining the DOMA

The Federal Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) defines marriage as a legal union between one man and one woman for purposes of all federal laws, and provides that states need not recognize a marriage from another state if it is between persons of the same sex. 37 states have their own Defense of Marriage Acts (DOMAs), while 2 more states have strong language that defines marriage as one man and one woman. There are 30 states that have constitutional amendments protecting traditional marriage, including the three states (Arizona, California, and Florida) that passed constitutional amendments in November 2008.


1 Comment

  1. Euripides said,

    February 7, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    The peoples’ vote and state’s rights over the definition of marriage should never be overturned by a few judges who have caved into the idea that somehow homosexual sex and same sex marriages are defensible. If DOMA is overturned by this Congress, marriage will no longer have any meaning and children won’t have any protection of the family.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: