Iowa Alert on HJR6

April 8, 2009

Dear Friend,
Following the Iowa Supreme Court’s unanimous ruling Friday that overturned state law protecting marriage as between a man and a woman, organizations across the country are urging ALL citizens to contact Iowa lawmakers. The Iowa House DOES have the ability to protect marriage by passing House Joint Resolution 6 (HJR 6), known as the Iowa Marriage Amendment.
HJR 6 is the first step toward giving Iowans the chance to vote to protect marriage, in response to the Supreme Court’s same-sex marriage ruling.
In order to debate HJR 6, the House must force it out of committee with a procedural vote. The House Republicans are prepared to initiate this procedural vote, but to pass it they need your help!

Take Action
Please contact the House Democrats listed below, and ask them to vote to bring HJR 6 out of committee. These legislators have indicated they support traditional marriage and therefore, they SHOULD vote to bring the IMA out of committee.

Rep. Brian Quirk – brian.quirk@legis.state.ia.us , 515.242.6436
Rep. Mike Reasoner – mike.reasoner@legis.state.ia.us , 515.281.3238
Rep. Kurt Swaim – kurt.swaim@legis.state.ia.us , 515.242.6417
Rep. Larry Marek – larry.marek@legis.state.ia.us , 515.242.6442
Rep. Kerry Burt – kerry.burt@legis.state.ia.us , 515.281.7342
Rep. Wayne Ford – wayne.ford@legis.state.ia.us , 515.281.4061
Rep. Nathan Reichert – nathan.reichert@legis.state.ia.us , 515.281.7332
Rep. Paul Shomshor – paul.shomshor@legis.state.ia.us , 515.281.7325
Rep. Phyllis Thede – phyllis.thede@legis.state.ia.us , 515.281.7336

Sincerely,
Ron Prentice
Chairman
ProtectMarriage.com – Yes on 8

Advertisements

5 Comments

  1. Beetlebabee hates gays said,

    April 8, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Wow…I’ve never seen someone so completely obsessed with making sure gay people cannot have any legal recognition of their relationships, like you are, beetlebabee. I’m sure it would make you very happy to watch a gay person being denied access to see their dying partner in the hospital, because they are not a legal spouse.

  2. beetlebabee said,

    April 8, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Really? Hate? That’s a strong word. Must I agree with you in order for you to like me?

    Your story about dying partners in the hospital is heart wrenching, however, less than credible. Have you personally ever been denied access to a hospital? Or, even ever had them ask you who you were? My experience is that they’re too busy caring for sick people to care who you are. If you’re really concerned about that issue, you can have legal contracts drawn up that will cover that for you.

  3. Yours Sincerely said,

    April 11, 2009 at 7:54 am

    You know, BB, this brings up a good point: Apparently much of the voting public is unaware of already-existing legal venues whereby a non-relative may have legal privileges, such as the above-mentioned hospital visitation rights, etc. In many states, civil unions cover all the legalities, as well as your standard powers of attorney. And because of this unfortunate lack of knowledge, extreme measures are sought, such as the redefinition of traditional marriage.

  4. David Cox said,

    August 27, 2009 at 1:13 am

    You know BB and Yours Sincerely, you’re both advocating treating your neighbors and family members as 2nd class citizens. Surely you know someone gay? Surely someone in your family is. I have three gay cousins.

    Why should basic rights be doled out in a piecemeal fashion to a particular segment of our population?

    BB: check out the ACLU’s letter in defense of a California couple denied visitation rights in Fresno hospital. It’s not an isolated case. http://www.aclu.org/lgbt/discrim/39854res20090615.html

    Yours Sincerely: as a couple, you and your spouse are no different, no better, no less deserving of the rights and perks that come with marriage (lower car insurance premiums for example) than your neighbor John and Jill, or than Judy and Steve, or than their neighbors John and Jack. And yet, as a couple, John and Jack get very few of the rights that you and your spouse enjoy. Some of the denials can even be life threatening.

    So support MARRIAGE! Be PRO-MARRIAGE! With liberty and justice FOR ALL.

    Same-sex couples today want the whole banana! Not the crumbs!

  5. beetlebabee said,

    August 27, 2009 at 8:36 am

    David, I don’t buy the second class citizens argument. Every human has the same rights as every other. Any man can marry any woman and vice versa. Sorry, the argument you’re making just doesn’t hold. You’re asking to change the very nature of marriage, to divorce marriage from family and children in order to accommodate your particular vision for marriage. Would you have the same emotional plea for any other minority love triangle? Or is your exception, the only exception you wish to make?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: