Pray For Marriage New York! It’s going to be a close vote!


Pray For Marriage New York!

As New York’s State Senate tries to decide whether to hold a vote to legally neuter marriage, people have started lining up on either side of the issue.

Although the issue hasn’t even gone to the floor of the Senate, already New York Senator Tom Duane is crowing “We Have the Votes!” to neuter marriage in New York, but others say, not so fast!  (see NY1)

The New York Family Research Foundation has been advocating a “Pray for New York” campaign to help raise awareness.  They are hoping people will sit up and take notice of the situation.  The vote could come at any time, without warning.

There are three weeks left in the legislative session in New York.  They need 32 votes to pass the neutered marriage bill, so far they have more than 20, with many undecideds.  According to the NY1 tally, if only four more undecided lawmakers oppose gay marriage, the bill will fail.

Pray for Marriage!  There are massive amounts of political pressure at play here.  It’s going to be a close vote.

—Beetle Blogger

Among those who are undecided or undeclared are New York City Senators Hiram Monserrate of Queens, Carl Kruger of Brooklyn, Andrew Lanza of Staten Island, John Sampson of Brooklyn and Ruth Hassel-Thompson of The Bronx/Westchester.

The measure already passed the state Assembly and has the support of Governor David Paterson.

Here is the overall breakdown, with 32 votes needed to pass:

Would Vote “Yes” 20 (All Democrats)
Would Vote “No” 27 (22 Republicans, 5 Democrats)
Undecided 10 (6 Democrats, 4 Republicans)
Wouldn’t Say 5 (4 Republicans, 1 Democrat)

Here is the breakdown by Senator:

Would vote “Yes”

Eric Adams, D-Brooklyn
Neil Breslin, D-Delmar
Martin Dilan, D-Brooklyn
Thomas Duane, D-Manhattan
Pedro Espada, D-Bronx
Craig Johnson, D-Nassau
Jeffrey Klein, D-Bronx/Westchester
Liz Krueger, D-Manhattan
Velmanette Montgomery, D-Brooklyn
Suzi Oppenheimer, D-Westchester
Kevin Parker, D-Brookyn
Bill Perkins, D-Manhattan
Diane Savino, D-Staten Island/Brooklyn
Eric Schneiderman, D-Manhattan/Bronx
Jose Serrano, D-Bronx/Manhattan
Malcolm Smith, D-Queens
Daniel Squadron, D-Brooklyn/Manhattan
Toby Ann Stavisky, D-Queens
Andrea Stewart-Cousins, D-Westchester
Antoine Thompson, D-Buffalo

Would vote “No”

Darrel Aubertine, D-Cape Vincent
John DeFrancisco, R-Syracuse
Ruben Diaz, D-Bronx
Hugh Farley, R-Niskayuna
John Flanagan, R-Suffolk
Charles Fuschillo, R-Nassau/Suffolk
Martin Golden, R-Brooklyn
Joseph Griffo, R-Rome
Shirley Huntley, D-Queens
William Larkin, R-Cornwall
Kenneth LaValle, R-Suffolk
Thomas Libous, R-Binghamton
Elizabeth Little, R-Queensbury
Carl Marcellino, R-Nassau/Suffolk
George Maziarz, R-Newfane
Michael Nozzolio, R-Seneca Falls
George Onorato, D-Queens
Frank Padavan, R-Queens/Bronx/Nassau
Michael Ranzenhofer, R-Amherst
Joseph Robach, R-Greece
Stephen Saland, R-Poughkeepsie
James Seward, R-Milford
Dean Skelos, R-Nassau
William Stachowski, D-Buffalo
Dale Volker, R-Depew
George Winner, R-Elmira
Catharine Young, R-Olean


John Bonacic, R-Mt. Hope
Brian Foley, D-Suffolk
Ruth Hassel-Thompson, D-Bronx/Westchester
Owen Johnson, R-Suffolk
Carl Kruger, D-Brooklyn
Andrew Lanza, R-Staten Island
Roy McDonald, R-Saratoga
Hiram Monserrate, D-Queens
John Sampson, D-Brooklyn
David Valesky, D-Oneida

Wouldn’t Say

Joseph Addabbo, D-Queens
James Alesi, R-East Rochester
Kemp Hannon, R-Nassau
Vincent Leibell, R-Westchester
Thomas Morahan, R-Rockland